Barry University Distinguished Alumni Awards

Distinguished Alumni Awards

Since 2007, Barry University has paid tribute to outstanding graduates via the Distinguished Alumni Awards, the highest and most prestigious honor that Barry bestows upon its graduates. The awards are presented to select Barry graduates who have made significant contributions to their professions and/or community, and who consistently demonstrate Barry’s Core Commitments of Knowledge and Truth; Inclusive Community, Social Justice, and Collaborative Service through their daily lives.

Nominations for the 2021 Distinguished Alumni Awards are now open. Submit a nomination by completing the online nomination form by April 16, 2021. Only applications submitted electronically via the online nomination form will be accepted.

Recipients will be announced in early summer, and presented with their awards at a ceremony held on November 12th during Alumni Homecoming Weekend.

2020 Distinguished Alumni Honorees

Matthew J. Allen, BS ’87
EVP and COO, The Related Group

Alice Parmelee Burch, BSN '82
Vice Mayor
Village of Miami Shores

Thomas H. Leeder, Esq., JD '03
The Leeder Law Firm

Dr. Carmen Blanco Marinelli, BA '76
Adjunct Professor
Nova Southeastern University

Anthony Palmieri, JD '10
Deputy Inspector General
Clerk & Comptroller, Palm Beach County

Jennifer Boyd-Pugh, BS '94, MS' 01
Vice President for University Administration
Barry University

Elizabeth Ricci, BS '96
Rambana & Ricci, PLLC

Paul G. Van Buskirk, MS '02, PhD '06
Chairman of the Board
Metro Forecasting Models

2020 Distinguished Alumni - Rising Star Honorees

Joseph P. Caiazzo, BA' 09
Political Consultant/Advisor

Vanessa Viadero, BA' 11
Director of Marketing
JW Marriott Miami Turnberry Resort & Spa