2014 All-SSC Baseball Team Announced

2014 All-SSC Baseball Team Announced
Sheehan Planas-Arteaga led the SSC in hitting, walks and on-base-percentage in 2014. Photo by Joel Auerbach.

WINTER PARK, Fla. – Barry University baseball standout Sheehan Planas-Arteaga has been named First-Team All-Sunshine State Conference after posting personal career-highs in several categories for the Buccaneers this spring.

A total of 34 student-athletes have been named to the 2014 All-Sunshine State Conference Baseball Team. Lynn’s Sal Giardina, Jr. was selected Player of the Year. Tampa’s Preston Packrall was chosen Pitcher of the Year. Saint Leo’s Dylan Harris was tabbed Freshman of the Year. Tampa’s Joe Urso was named Coach of the Year.

Planas-Arteaga, a  Miami native led, the Bucs with a .385 batting average and his 65 hits, 17 doubles and six home runs were also bests on the team. Planas-Arteaga moved out of the leadoff spot and into the middle of the lineup, but continued to produce runs by scoring 45 times (second on the team) and driving in 32 on the season.

As a sophomore, Planas-Arteaga earned Second-Team All-SSC honors. The left-handed bat wreaked havoc on opposing pitchers, posting a .502 o-base-percentage and a .592 slugging percentage. Planas-Arteaga currently ranks 8th in the nation and first in the SSC with 40 walks, he also leads the conference in batting average and on-base-percentage.

The sophomore finished the season with 18 multi-hit games and a 27 game-streak of reaching base safely to end the season.


1B – Fran Whitten, Saint Leo (Sr.)

2B – Orlando Rivera, Tampa (Jr.)

3B – Dylan Harris, Saint Leo (Fr.)

SS – Giovanny Alfonzo, Tampa (Jr.)

SS – Alvin Swoope, Nova Southeastern (Fr.)

C – Sal Giardina, Jr., Lynn (Sr.)

OF – Dominic Brugnoni, Florida Southern (RSo.)

OF – Keith Curcio, Florida Southern (Jr.)

OF – Michael Danner, Tampa (Sr.)

OF – Sheehan Planas-Arteaga, Barry (Jr.)

DH – Mario Urdaneta, Nova Southeastern (Jr.)

UT – Stephen Dezzi, Tampa (Sr.)

SP – Jimmy Gutowski, Eckerd (Jr.)

SP – David Heintz, Tampa (So.)

SP – Preston Packrall, Tampa (Sr.)

SP – Jed Vandernaald, Lynn (Sr.)

RP – Bill Mendek, Lynn (Jr.)


Player of the Year – Sal Giardina Jr., Lynn

 Pitcher of the Year – Preston Packrall, Tampa

Freshman of the Year – Dylan Harris, Saint Leo

Coach of the Year – Joe Urso, Tampa



1B – Sean O’Brien, Tampa (Sr.)

2B – Lucas Luopa, Eckerd (Fr.)

3B – Thomas Kain, Lynn (Jr.)

SS – Taylor Perez, Saint Leo (So.)

C – Nick Tindall, Tampa (Jr.)

OF – Christian Coburn, Rollins (Jr.)

OF – Zach Gawrych, Tampa (Sr.)

OF – Connor Obrochta, Tampa (Sr.)

OF – Cole Stancil, Saint Leo (So.)

DH – Chris Hanson, Eckerd (Sr.)

UT – Alex Debellis, Lynn (Jr.)

SP – Clay Chapman, Florida Southern (Sr.)

SP – Brian Johnson, Florida Southern (Sr.)

SP – Trey Oest, Tampa (So.)

SP – Scotty Ward, Florida Tech (Jr.)

RP – Nate Carter, Florida Southern (Sr.)

RP – Kevin McNorton, Tampa (Sr.)