Four Bucs Named to Men's Golf All-Region Team

Four Bucs Named to Men's Golf All-Region Team
Scott Smyers, Jared Dalga, Adam Svensson and Mario Beltran all earned All-South Region honors. Photos by Joel Auerbach

NORMAN, Okla. -- Four Barry University men's golfers were named to the Ping All-South Region Team Tuesday, as announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

Seniors Scott Smyers and Jared Dalga, sophomore Adam Svensson and freshman Mario Beltran all received the honor.

Smyers, a Lakeland, Florida, native, is a three-time all-region recipient. He has a 73.24 stroke average with four top-10 finishes. He shot a career-low 66 in the Super Regional, and finished third in the St. Edward's Invitational.

Dalga, of Grand Rapids, Michigan, earned the honor for the second straight year. He has a 72.61 stroke average with seven top-10 finishes. He shot a low round of 68 this year, and finished third at the Brickyard Crossing Intercollegiate to open the fall season.

Svensson, of Surrey Vancouver, B.C., is a repeat All-South selection. He has a 69.77 stroke average, and has won a school-record seven tournaments this season. He's finished in the top-10 in all but one of the 11 tournaments he's competed in this season.

Beltran, of Valencia, Spain, earned the award in his rookie year. He has a 72.71 stroke average and two tournament title victories this season. He has five top-five finishes this season.

No. 1-ranked Barry is competing in the NCAA Division II Championships at The Meadows Golf Course in Allendale, Michigan, this week. Follow coverage HERE.


Ping All-South Region Team
Ray Badenhorst, Florida Tech
Mario Beltran, Barry
Martin Cancino, Lynn
Esteban Castro, West Florida
Tim Crouch, Florida Southern
Jared Dalga, Barry
Corey Evans, West Georgia
Mitch Farrer, Nova Southeastern
Ryan Gendron, Saint Leo
Conner Godsey, North Alabama
Santiago Gomez, Nova Southeastern
Keith Greene, Lynn
Juan Migual Heredia, West Florida
Justin Kalanquin, Florida Tech
Hunter O’Mahony, Nova Southeastern
Scott Smyers, Barry
Emil Sorebo, Rollins
Adam Svensson, Barry
Hunter Vest, Lee
Ernesto Vitienes, Lynn
Elliot Whitley, Lynn