Men's Golf's Svensson Named DII Nicklaus Award Winner

Men's Golf's Svensson Named DII Nicklaus Award Winner
Adam Svensson was named the NCAA Division II Jack Nicklaus Award Winner, given to the top player in the nation in each of college golf's five divisions. Photo by Joel Auerbach

DUBLIN, Ohio -- Barry University sophomore men's golfer Adam Svensson was named the NCAA Division II Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award winner, given to the country's top player in each division Sunday.

Svensson, who hails from Surrey Vancouver, British Columbia, was the No. 1-ranked player in Division II after winning a school-record seven tournaments in 2013-14 as the wire-to-wire No. 1-ranked Buccaneers repeated as national champions. His seven tournament victories is believed to have tied the national record for wins in a collegiate season, matching that of Stanford's Tiger Woods in 1996 and Abilene Christian's Alex Carpenter in 2011. 

Svensson is the first recipient from Barry to receive the Nicklaus Award.

"Adam had a phenomenal year, and is very deserving of this prestigious award," Barry coach Jimmy Stobs said. "Winning seven times and finishing with a 70.05 stroke average was extremely impressive. He got off to a great start and never wavered. He worked hard, and led the team to the national championship.  Adam is up to the challenge of trying to top this season by playing even better next year.  I have no doubt he can do it."

Svensson's 61 in the second round of the Buccaneer Invitational at Normandy Shores Golf Club in Miami Beach on March 31 tied the lowest round in the nation for any of the golfer at any division this season. 

Barry assistant coach Chris Carlin accepted the award from Nicklaus for Svensson at the site of this year's Memorial Tournament at Muirfield Village Golf Club. Svensson and Stobs had prior commitments, and could not attend.

Patrick Rodgers, Stanford Division I
Adam Svensson, Barry Division II
Bobby Holden, Redlands Division III
James Marchesani, Oklahoma City NAIA
Tim Walker, Central Alabama CC NJCAA
Michael Kim, California Division I
Alex Carpenter, Abilene Christian Division II
Brad Shigezawa, Claremont McKenna Division III
Sondre Ronold, Oklahoma City NAIA
Jake Argento, South Mountain NJCAA
Justin Thomas, Alabama Division I
Ben Taylor, Nova Southeastern Division II
Noah Ratner, Guilford Division III
Nathan Anderson, Texas Wesleyan NAIA
Jimmy Kozikowski, South Mountain NJCAA
Patrick Cantlay, UCLA Division I
Alex Carpenter, Abilene Christian Division II
Chris Morris, Centre College Division III
Oscar Stark, Oklahoma Christian NAIA
Brandt Garon, Meridian CC NJCAA
Eugune Wong, Oregon Division I
Brett Munson, North Alabama Division II
Tain Lee, Claremont McKenna Division III
Justin Lower, Malone NAIA
Abraham Ancer, Odessa College NJCAA
Matt Hill, NC State Division I
Brent Witcher, Valdosta State Division II
Mitchell Fedorka, La Verne Division III
Sam Cyr, Point Loma Nazarene NAIA
Kevin Chappel, UCLA Division I
Jarin Todd, Sonoma State Division II
Scott Harris Jr., St. John Fisher Division III
Sam Cyr, Point Loma Nazarene NAIA
Jamie Lovemark, Southern California Divison I
Jarin Todd, Sonoma State Divison II
Andy Miller, Otterbein Division III
Daniel Mitchell, Oklahoma City NAIA
Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State Division I
Scott Brown, USC-Aiken Division II
Stephen Goodridge, Rochester Division III
Ryan Moore, UNLV Division I
Dane Burkhart, USC-Aiken Division II
Pete Weber, Loras Division III
Bill Haas, Wake Forest Division I
J.J. Jakovac, Chico State Division II
Trent Erb, Oglethorpe Division III
Hunter Mahan, Oklahoma State Division I
Andrew McArthur, Pfeiffer Division II
Ryan Quinn, Wisconsin-Eau Claire Division III
D.J. Trahan, Clemson
Bryce Molder, Geogia Tech
Charles Howell III, Oklahoma State
Luke Donald, Northwestern
Bryce Molder, Georgia Tech
1997 Brad Elder
Tiger Woods, Stanford
Stewart Cink, Georgia Tech
Alan Bratton, Oklahoma State
Justin Leonard, Texas
David Duval, Georgia Tech
Phil Mickelson, Arizona State
Phil Mickelson, Arizona State
Phil Mickelson, Arizona State
Robert Gamez, Arizona
Bob Estes, Texas

Alex Carpenter, Abilene Christian (2011, '13)
Sam Cyr, Point Loma Nazarene (2008-09)
Phil Mickelson, Arizona State (1990-92)
Bryce Molder, Georgia Tech (1998, '01)
Jarin Todd, Sonoma State (2007-08)