Women's Tennis Trio Named to All-SSC First Team

Women's Tennis Trio Named to All-SSC First Team
Linda Fritschken and Karina Goia received All-SSC honors, among three others from Barry women's tennis. Photos by Joel Auerbach

WINTER PARK, Fla. -- Barry University women's tennis team had three players named to the First-Team All-Sunshine State Conference after a tabulation error in the original team released last month was discovered.

Due to a tabulation error in the original All-SSC Women's Tennis Team release, the list below was amended. Barry's Linda Fritschken moved up to All-SSC First Team in singles, while Barry's Karina Goia was named All-SSC Second Team in singles. The remainder of the All-SSC Team remains unchanged from its original release on April 26.

Fritschken received the necessary outstanding point after she was the only singles player possible to be impacted by the recalculation.

Barry's Elisabeth Abanda and Emma Onila were named to the First Team in doubles. Named All-SSC Second Team in singles were: Abanda, Onila and Goia. Receiving second-team honors in doubles were Fritschken and Kimmy Twelker.

Voting for the All-SSC Women's Tennis Team was conducted among the league's women's tennis coaches.

In his fifth year at the helm of the Bucs' program, Kigel won his fourth consecutive Coach of the Year distinction after leading his Buccaneers to their fourth straight SSC title. Ranked No. 1 in Division II, Kigel's squad went 27-1 in 2013, bowing out in the NCAA quarterfinals, 5-3, to No. 2 and eventual champion Armstrong Atlantic.


First Team
Valentine Confalonieri, Lynn (Fr)
Linda Fritschken, Barry (So)
Sabine Goge, Florida Southern (Jr)
Kristina Huba, Florida Tech (Jr)
Ioana Ivan, Lynn (Jr)
Magda Riutort, Florida Southern (So)
Ashley Rosenberg, Rollins (Jr)

Elisabeth Abanda/Emma Onila, Barry (Fr/Fr)
Valentine Confalonieri/Ioana Ivan, Lynn (Fr/Jr)
Magda Riutort/Sabine Goge, Florida Southern (So/Jr)

Player of the Year - Kristina Huba, Florida Tech
Freshman of the Year - Valentine Confalonieri, Lynn
Coach of the Year - Avi Kigel, Barry

Second Team
Elisabeth Abanda, Barry (Fr)
Maria Benkirane, Saint Leo (So)
Adrianna Daskiewicz, Saint Leo (Jr)
Karina Goia, Barry (Fr)
Lauren Hewett, Tampa (Jr)
Emma Onila, Barry (Fr)

Elissa DeCampli/Ashley Rosenberg, Rollins (Jr/Jr)
Stephanie Dohner/Kristina Huba, Florida Tech (Sr/Jr)
Linda Fritschken/Kimmy Twelker, Barry (So/Fr)
Lauren Hewett/Meg Wladimirski, Tampa (Jr/So)

Honorable Mention
Carli Davis, Rollins (Fr)