2013 All-SSC Baseball Team Announced

2013 All-SSC Baseball Team Announced

WINTER PARK, Fla. – A total of 36 student-athletes have been named to the 2013 All-Sunshine State Conference Baseball Team including six Buccaneers.

Lynn’s Jason Matusik was selected Player of the Year. Tampa’s Mike Adams was chosen Pitcher of the Year. Florida Tech’s Austin Allen was tabbed Freshman of the Year. Tampa’s Joe Urso was recognized as Coach of the Year.

Joining Matusik (1B), Adams (RP), and Austin (C) on the All-SSC First Team were: 1B Michael Revell (Saint Leo), 2B Adrian English (Barry), 3B Brandon Sedell (Nova Southeastern), SS Jacob Tillotson (Tampa), OF Michael Danner (Tampa), OF Taed Moses (Saint Leo), OF Connor Obrochta (Tampa), OF Zach Persky (Rollins), DH Kevin Reynolds (Nova Southeastern), UT Keith Curcio (Florida Southern), SP Matt Abramson (Tampa), SP Billy Atkins (Barry), SP Jason Boyer (Florida Tech), and SP Jed Vandernaald (Lynn).

Selected to the All-SSC Second Team were: 1B Scott Carcaise (Florida Tech), 2B Tyler Ding (Tampa), 3B Dillon Vitale (Saint Leo), SS Carlos Asuaje (Nova Southeastern), C Luis Arrizurieta (Barry), OF Alex Marrero (Nova Southeastern), OF Enrique Perez (Lynn), OF Sheehan Planas (Barry), OF Jose Rodriguez (Nova Southeastern), DH Cory Elasik (Lynn), UT Tyler Kellman (Barry), SP Michael Dunnigan (Saint Leo), SP Calvin Rayburn (Barry), SP Taylor Smith (Rollins), SP Scotty Ward (Florida Tech), and RP James Mannara (Florida Tech).

Saint Leo OF Bobby Twitty and SP Rick Teasley, as well as Rollins SP Anthony Figliolia, received honorable mention.

Voting for the All-SSC Baseball Team was conducted among the league’s head baseball coaches.

Junior Adrian English and freshman Billy Atkins headline the Buccaneers as First-Team All-SSC selections. A Miami native, English led the conference in batting average (.392) and doubles (20). Atkins developed a reputation as a big-game pitcher moving into the Friday night slot in the Bucs’ rotation and finished 4-1 with a 2.09 ERA in conference.

Arrizurieta posted career highs in several offensive categories and was a steady force behind the dish for a young pitching staff.

After a strong rookie campaign Planas-Arteaga delivered an even stronger sophomore season as one of the premiere leadoff hitters in the nation ranking in the top-ten in all of Division II in runs scored and walks.

Kellmann was a constant force in the middle of the Buccaneers’ lineup while playing solid defense at both infield corner positions earning him a spot as a utility player.

Rayburn finished with the most wins in the SSC with nine victories on the season after making the transition from a relief pitcher in 2012 into the starting rotation this spring, earning himself a spot on the all-conference squad.

Barry finished the season with a 31-19 overall mark including a 14-10 record in conference but did not earn a postseason bid in the always competitive South Region.

The Bucs return six starting position players including English, Planas-Arteaga, and Kellmann, while Atkins and Rayburn headline a strong pitching staff geared to make a run in 2014.



1B – Jason Matusik, Lynn (Sr)
1B – Michael Revell, Saint Leo (Sr)
2B – Adrian English, Barry (Jr)
3B – Brandon Sedell, Nova Southeastern (So)
SS – Jacob Tillotson, Tampa (So)
C – Austin Allen, Florida Tech (Fr)
OF – Michael Danner, Tampa (Jr)
OF – Taed Moses, Saint Leo (Sr)
OF – Connor Obrochta, Tampa (Jr)
OF – Zach Persky, Rollins (Jr)
DH – Kevin Reynolds, Nova Southeastern (Jr)
UT – Keith Curcio, Florida Southern (So)
SP – Matt Abramson, Tampa (Sr)
SP – Billy Atkins, Barry (Fr)
SP – Jason Boyer, Florida Tech (Sr)
SP – Jed Vandernaald, Lynn (Jr)
RP – Mike Adams, Tampa (Jr)

Player of the Year – Jason Matusik, Lynn
Pitcher of the Year – Mike Adams, Tampa
Freshman of the Year – Austin Allen, Florida Tech
Coach of the Year – Joe Urso, Tampa

1B – Scott Carcaise, Florida Tech (Jr)
2B – Tyler Ding, Tampa (Jr)
3B – Dillon Vitale, Saint Leo (Sr)
SS – Carlos Asuaje, Nova Southeastern (Jr)
C – Luis Arrizurieta, Barry (Sr)
OF – Alex Marrero, Nova Southeastern (Sr)
OF – Enrique Perez, Lynn (Jr)
OF – Sheehan Planas, Barry (So)
OF – Jose Rodriguez, Nova Southeastern (Sr)
DH - Cory Elasik, Lynn (Sr)
UT – Tyler Kellman, Barry (Jr)
SP – Michael Dunnigan, Saint Leo (Fr)
SP – Calvin Rayburn, Barry (Jr)
SP – Taylor Smith, Rollins (Sr)
SP – Scotty Ward, Florida Tech (So)
RP – James Mannara, Florida Tech (Sr)

OF – Bobby Twitty, Saint Leo (Jr)
SP – Anthony Figliolia, Rollins (Sr)
SP – Rick Teasley, Saint Leo (Sr)