SSC to Host 2014 NCAA Tennis Championships

SSC to Host 2014 NCAA Tennis Championships
Sanlando Park in Altamonte Springs, Fla., will be the sight of the 2014 NCAA Division II National Tennis Championships. Photos by Jim Hogue

WINTER PARK, Fla. -- The Sunshine State Conference will be teaming with the Central Florida Sports Commission and Team Seminole to host the 2014 NCAA Division II Men's and Women's Tennis Championships at Sanlando Park in Altamonte Springs, Fla.

Last week, the NCAA named 73 sites to serve as hosts for championships from 2013 through 2015. Representing 18 sports, it was the largest single announcement of sites ever done by the NCAA. Central Florida was also awarded both the 2014 and 2015 Division III Women's Golf Championships in addition to the 2014 Division II Men's and Women's Tennis Championships.

"Being awarded these two championships is a testament to the wonderful facilities and partners that we are able to offer the NCAA here in Central Florida," said John Bisignano, president of the Central Florida Sports Commission. "We look forward to working with the NCAA, Oglethorpe University, the Sunshine State Conference, and our respective county partners to ensure the success of these prestigious events."

The SSC, Sports Commission and Team Seminole will join forces to host the championships in Sanlando. Team Seminole last hosted the event at Sanlando in 2011, generating $617,000 in economic impact and over 1,500 room nights for Seminole County. The tournament dates for 2014 will be May 14-17.

"We are excited to welcome the Division II Tennis Championship and to be able to again utilize Sanlando Park for the event," said Jay Jones, Commissioner of the Sunshine State Conference. "The event will feature some of the nation's best collegiate tennis at what has proven in the past to be one of the nation's absolute best venues for hosting an event of this type."

"Seminole County is one of the best places for tennis competitions," said Brenda Carey, Seminole County Board of County Commissioners Chairman. "Being selected to host the NCAA Division II National Championships once again proves that we are a top destination for tennis. We look forward to welcoming all of the best NCAA men's and women's Division II teams in the country in 2014 and continuing to showcase Seminole County as a sports destination and a natural choice for all visitors."

The Central Florida Sports Commission strategically solicits, creates, and supports marquee sports-related events and businesses that enhance the community's economy. The Sports Commission represents the counties of Lake, Orange, Osceola, Seminole and Volusia, as well as the City of Orlando. The Sports Commission also produces sports-related programs for the residents of Central Florida, including the Celebrity Mascot Games, the SPORTYS, Breakfast of Champions, Gridiron 5K Challenge and the Daytona Beach Half Marathon.

Located in the SunTrust Plaza off Winter Park's famous Park Avenue, the SSC is the only NCAA conference headquartered in the state of Florida. Its nine member institutions, all private schools located within the state, are: Barry University (Miami Shores), Eckerd College (St. Petersburg), Florida Southern College (Lakeland), Florida Institute of Technology (Melbourne), Lynn University (Boca Raton), Nova Southeastern University (Ft. Lauderdale), Rollins College (Winter Park), Saint Leo University (Saint Leo), and the University of Tampa.