Abanda, Onila Women's Tennis First-Team All-SSC Picks

Elisabeth Abanda (front court) and Emma Onila (serving) were named to the First-Team All-SSC. Photo by Joel Auerbach

WINTER PARK, Fla. -- Barry University women's tennis players Elisabeth Abanda and Emma Onila were named to the All-Sunshine State Conference First Team as a doubles team.

Both Abanda and Onila joined Buccaneer teammate Linda Fritschken on the Second Team as singles players. Fritschken and Kimmy Twelker were also chosen for the Second Team.

Avi Kigel was named the Coach of the Year after his Buccaneers won their fourth straight SSC title in a season they have put together a 24-0 record entering Saturday's South Regional at Buccaneer Tennis Center.



First Team
Valentine Confalonieri, Lynn (Fr)
Sabine Goge, Florida Southern (Jr)
Kristina Huba, Florida Tech (Jr)
Ioana Ivan, Lynn (Jr)
Magda Riutort, Florida Southern (So)
Ashley Rosenberg, Rollins (Jr)

Elisabeth Abanda/Emma Onila, Barry (Fr/Fr)
Valentine Confalonieri/Ioana Ivan, Lynn (Fr/Jr)
Magda Riutort/Sabine Goge, Florida Southern (So/Jr)

Player of the Year - Kristina Huba, Florida Tech
Freshman of the Year - Valentine Confalonieri, Lynn
Coach of the Year - Avi Kigel, Barry

Second Team
Elisabeth Abanda, Barry (Fr)
Maria Benkirane, Saint Leo (So)
Adrianna Daskiewicz, Saint Leo (Jr)
Linda Fritschken, Barry (So)
Lauren Hewett, Tampa (Jr)
Emma Onila, Barry (Fr)

Elissa DeCampli/Ashley Rosenberg, Rollins (Jr/Jr)
Stephanie Dohner/Kristina Huba, Florida Tech (Sr/Jr)
Linda Fritschken/Kimmy Twelker, Barry (So/Fr)
Lauren Hewett/Meg Wladimirski, Tampa (Jr/So)

Honorable Mention
Carli Davis, Rollins (Fr)


Oh oh ....

We are sorry but it appears that JavaScript is disabled on your browser.
Our site is very interactive and it requires JavaScript to be enabled.
Click on the link below for instructions on how to enable JavaScript on your browser.

Enable JavaScript on your browser