Stobs Named Men's Golf National Coach of Year

Stobs Named Men's Golf National Coach of Year
Jimmy Stobs was named National Coach of the Year. Photo by Joel Auerbach

NORMAN, Okla. -- Barry University men's golf coach Jimmy Stobs was named the NCAA Division II National Coach of the Year by the Golf Coaches Association of America after leading the Buccaneers to the NCAA Championship.

It marks the second time Stobs received the honor, named the Dave Williams Award presented by Eaton Golf Pride. He also won it in 2007 after the Bucs captured their first national title. Stobs also was named the South Region Coach of the Year.

Stobs led the Buccaneers to the Sunshine State Conference championship for the first time in his 11-year coaching tenure before winning and the II National Championship for the second time. The Bucs won three other tournaments this season, and finished second five times. Barry had the lowest team stroke average in the country at 289.31.

Barry rookie Adam Svensson, who clinched the national title on the final hole, was named Freshman of the Year in the SSC and Phil Mickelson Award presented by the Phil and Amy Mickelson Foundation as the nation’s outstanding freshman. He was joined by teammate Scott Smyers on the GCAA PING All-America First Team, while Jared Dalga and Marcus Sgerstrom made the Third Team.

Dave Williams Award Presented by Eaton Golf Pride

Division I - Steve Desimone, California
Division II - Jimmy Stobs, Barry
Division III - King Campbell, UT Tyler
NAIA - Kyle Blaser, Oklahoma City
NJCAA Division I - Dave Jennings, Central Alabama
NJCAA Division II - Bill Gardner, Walters State 

Eaton Golf Pride Region Coaches of the Year

Division I
Northeast - Colin Sheehan, Yale
East - Bruce Heppler, Georgia Tech
Southeast - Jay Seawell, Alabama
Midwest - Mike Small, Illinois
Central - Mark Leroux, Missouri
West - Steve Desimone, California

Division II
East - Harry Jennings, Wilmington (Del.)
Atlantic - Pete Coughlin, CUP
Southeast - Mike Carlisle, USC Aiken
South - Jimmy Stobs, Barry
Midwest - Troy Halterman, Missouri-St. Louis
Central - Pat Bates, Central Oklahoma
South Central - Phil Trujillo, UC-Colorado Springs
West - Jason Owen, CSU Monterey Bay 

Division III
Northeast - Fred Fruisen, Skidmore
Mid-Atlantic - Bob Simms, St. John Fisher
Southeast - Steve Conley, Methodist
Great Lakes - Brian Lane, Transylvania
Central - Jim Ott, Illinois Wesleyan
West - Ron Macosko, Schreiner 

North - Chris Winkle, Grand View
South - John Maupin, Lee
Central - Kyle Blaser, Oklahoma City
West - Greg Hutton, CSU-San Marcos 

NJCAA Division I
District I - Dan Dersam, Scottsdale
District II - Vince Clark, McClennan
District III - Mike Hagen, Indian Hills
District IV - Dave Jennings, Central Alabama 

NJCAA Division II
East - Bill Gardner, Walters State
Central - Ronny Ross, Copiah-Lincoln
West - Jake Harrington, South Mountain