Financial Mission

The purpose of the Finance Department of Barry University is to provide those services to the Barry Community which assures adequate financial resources for carrying out the mission of the University. It encompasses Finance, Accounting, Purchasing, Accounts Payable, Cashier/Business Office, Payroll, Grants/Contracts, and Budgeting.

The Associate Vice President for Finance and Chief Accounting Officer, Susan Kirkland (skirkland@mail.barry.edu), provides the overall leadership and strategic direction to the areas of accounting within the department. Reporting to the AVP for Finance are: the Controller, Director of Financial Grants Management, and the Executive Director of Business Operations.

The Associate Vice President for Business and University Budget Officer, Nicole Diez (ndiez@mail.barry.edu), provides the overall leadership and strategic direction to the budgeting, purchasing, accounts payable, and payroll areas within the department. Reporting to the AVP for Business are: the Director of Payroll, Director of Accounts Payable, Director of Purchasing, and Senior Financial Analyst.

The Controller, Judith Penate (jpenate@mail.barry.edu), reports to the Associate Vice President for Finance and is responsible for the day-to-day accounting decisions of Barry University and the management of cash and general ledger maintenance, including bank reconciliations, interdepartmental charges, and fixed asset and depreciation reporting.

The Director of Accounts Payable, Nancy Perez (nperez@mail.barry.edu), is responsible for the payment of all university related expenses, which include: utility bills, travel advances and reimbursements, petty cash and general reimbursements, vendor payments, etc. Accounts payable is also responsible for asset inventory.

The Director of Purchasing, Sandra Madison (smadison@mail.barry.edu), reports to the Associate Vice President for Business and is responsible for the central procurement of office supplies, furniture, and other items for the campus community. The Purchasing sector is also responsible for service contracts, equipment repair, asset inventory, travel, and business cards.

The Executive Director of Business Operations, Cathleen Leonard (cleonard@mail.barry.edu), reports to the Associate Vice President for Finance and is responsible for student receivables and student loans, including the areas of credit and collection, billing, cashiering, and receivables data processing.

The Director of Payroll, Serrana Dominguez (sdominguez@mail.barry.edu) reports to Associate Vice President for Business, is responsible for accurate processing of payroll.

Oh oh ....

We are sorry but it appears that JavaScript is disabled on your browser.
Our site is very interactive and it requires JavaScript to be enabled.
Click on the link below for instructions on how to enable JavaScript on your browser.

Enable JavaScript on your browser