Hardy Named SSC's Women's Basketball Player of the Year

Hardy Named SSC's Women's Basketball Player of the Year
Tyler Hardy became just the third Buc in history honored as SSC Player of the Year. Photo by Jim Hogue.

WINTER PARK, Fla.— Barry senior Tyler Hardy headlined the 2013-14 All-Sunshine State Conference Women’s Basketball Team as Player of the Year, it was announced Friday. Rollins’ Emmalee Schill was named Defensive Player of the Year, while fellow Tar Tanaya Jones was named Freshman of the Year. Tampa’s Ellen Nurmi was named Newcomer of the Year, and Spartan head coach Tom Jessee was named Coach of the Year.

A senior from Ann Arbor, Mich., Hardy ranked second in the conference in both scoring (20.0 points per game) and rebounding (8.7 rebounds per game). She also ranked second in defensive boards with a total of 166 (6.1 per game). Hardy led the league in minutes per game with 36 and double-doubles with 11. Hardy was a four-time SSC Women’s Basketball Player of the Week during the 2013-14 season. Hardy becomes just the third Buccaneer to earn the league's Player of the Year award after Angie Williams (1998-99) and Mariesa Greene (2009-10).

Named to the All-SSC First Team with Hardy was Saint Leo’s senior guard Teresa Manigrasso, Rollins’ senior guard Sarah Taylor, Tampa’s senior guard Illyssa Vivo and Florida Tech’s junior guard Kayk Wilson.

Receiving a spot on the all-conference second team was Nova Southeastern’s sophomore guard Taylor Buie and redshirt junior forward Jasmine Wilkins, Tampa’s sophomore guard Nurmi and senior guard Shamika Williams, and Saint Leo’s senior forward Chelsea Williams.

An All-Newcomer Team was also selected. Earning a spot with Rollins’ Tayana Jones and Tampa’s Nurmi were Saint Leo’s sophomore guard Chachi Williams, Tampa’s sophomore center Taylor McVey and Barry’s junior forward Kaylia Richardson.

Richardson, a junior from Indianapolis, Ind., was third on the team in scoring at 10.7 points per game and shot 55.8 percent from the field. She was also second in rebounding (5.3), including offensive rebounds (67) and blocked shots (18).

Voting for the All-SSC Women’s Basketball Team was conducted among the league’s women’s basketball coaches.

2013-14 All-SSC Women’s Basketball Team

Tyler Hardy, Barry (Sr.)
Teresa Manigrasso, Saint Leo (Sr.)
Sarah Taylor, Rollins (Sr.)
Illyssa Vivo, Tampa (Sr.)
Kayk Wilson, Florida Tech (Jr.)

Player of the Year – Tyler Hardy, Barry
Defensive Player of the Year – Emmalee Schill, Rollins
Newcomer of the Year – Ellen Nurmi, Tampa
Freshman of the Year – Tanaya Jones, Rollins
Coach of the Year – Tom Jessee, Tampa

Taylor Buie, Nova Southeastern (So.)
Ellen Nurmi, Tampa (So.)
Jasmine Wilkins, Nova Southeastern (Jr.)
Chelsea Williams, Saint Leo (Sr.)
Shamika Williams, Tampa (Sr.)

Chachi Guzman, Saint Leo (So.)
Tayana Jones, Rollins (Fr.)
Taylor McVey, Tampa (So.)
Ellen Nurmi, Tampa (So.)
Kaylia Richardson, Barry (Jr.)