Spring 2008 Issue

Distinguished Alumni Awards

The Barry University Alumni Association hosted its first-ever Distinguished Alumni Awards November 15, 2007 at the Don Shula Hotel in Miami Lakes, Florida.

The event recognized 10 outstanding alumni from Barry’s 10 academic schools for their exceptional career achievement, outstanding community service and a demonstrated commitment to Barry University. Honorees are those who exemplify the intent and purpose of Barry’s mission, including teachers, coaches, business leaders, researchers, nurses, athletes and others who have distinguished themselves through significant achievement.

Those honored were: Susan Jeter, ’04, School of Adult and Continuing Education; Regine Cordon Shiver, ’86, School of Arts and Sciences; Teresa Rodriguez, ’79, School of Business; Silvia Reyes, ’93, ’96, School of Education; John Steinberg, ’93, ’95, School of Graduate Medical Sciences; Juan Fernandez, ’92, ’98, School of Human Performance and Leisure Sciences; Sheri McVay, ’02, School of Law; Catheryn Shaw Johnson, ’01, School of Natural and Health; Annabelle Dizon Scott, ’04, Division of Nursing; and Joni Goodman, ’77, School of Social Work.

Barry University President Sister Linda Bevilacqua, OP, PhD was also honored at the event, receiving the 2007 Distinguished Adrian Dominican Alumna Award. A 1962 graduate of Barry University, Sister Linda is the first person to receive the award.

Alumni AwardsAlumni Awards
Leticia Diaz, dean of the Dwayne O. Andreas School of Law, Shirley McVay Wiseman, board of trustee member, School of Law Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient Sherri McVay, and Richard Flood.
William Heffernan, chairman of the board of trustees, and BU President Sister Linda Bevilacqua, OP, PhD.
Alumni Awards
Recipients seated from left to right are: Dr. John Steinberg, Sherri McVay, Annabelle Dizon Scott, Teresa Rodriguez, Catheryn Shaw Johnson, Joni Goodman, Sylvia Reyes, Susan Jeter and Juan Carlos “JC” Fernandez; standing from left to right are BU deans: Chet Evans (Podiatric Medicine) Leticia Diaz (Law) Pegge Bell (Nursing), Jack Scarborough (Business), Sr. John Karen Frei (School of Natural and Health Sciences), Debra McPhee (Social Work), Professor of Counseling Education Sylvia Fernandez (sitting in for Education Dean Terry Piper), Carol-Rae Sodano (Adult and Continuing Education) and Jean Cerra (Human Performance and Leisure Sciences). Not pictured is Dean Karen Callaghan (Arts and Sciences).