Spring 2008 Issue

Athletic Department Inducts 6th Class of Wall of Honor

The sixth class of the Barry University Athletics Wall of Honor, sponsored by Miami Jai Alai, was inducted on October 25, 2007 at a dinner in their honor.

The five student-athletes inducted, representing the cream of the athletic crop at Barry, earned a total of 17 All-America commendations and Scholar All-America honors four times. In addition, two administrators will receive posthumous meritorious service commendations for their leadership in athletics.

The 2007 student-athlete inductees are Victoria Courmes (women’s tennis), Geralyn Elam (softball), Fernanda Ferreira-Downey (volleyball), Anna Halbergson-Lewis (women’s tennis) and Alen Marcina (men’s soccer). Dr. J. Patrick Lee, senior vice president for academic affairs and provost, and Neill L. Miller, professor emerita of physical education, received meritorious service commendations.

The Wall was established in 1996 to honor athletic and academic excellence among Barry's student athletes and throughout the department.