On The Cover

Prime Minister Laurent Lamothe '96
concludes his official visit to Vietnam
on Dec. 18, 2012.

2012 Distinguished Alumni Awards

The Success of the Barry Athletics Model

Campus Democracy Project

Spring 2013, Volume 18, Number 1

Campus Currents I Spotlight On Sports I Barry Beat I Features

Tennis player named to NCAA DII 40th Anniversary Team

Former Barry University women's tennis student-athlete Anna Hallbergson was chosen to represent the Sunshine State Conference on the NCAA Division II 40th Anniversary Tribute Team. Developed through a partnership with the Division II Conference Commissioners Association, the 40th Anniversary Tribute Team highlights one male and one female from each of the division’s 23 current conferences, plus two at-large nominees. Conferences were asked to submit a list of nominees representative of Division II’s ideals. Hallbergson had a 4.0 grade point average in pre-med/biology. She was a member of the SSC Commissioner's Honor Roll from 1998-00. She was an all-SSC selection in 1998 and 1999, and was a member of the Bucs first SSC title-winning team in 1998. She was a 1999 and 2000 ITA All-American, a 2000 Walter Byers Scholarship winner, a 2000 NCAA Woman of the Year state of Florida winner and 2000 NCAA Woman of the Year top-10 finalist. Hallbergson won the 1999 and 2000 Barry Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year. She was a 1999 GTE/CoSIDA Academic All-American. Hallbergson played at Barry from 1998-2000. She had a 31-28 singles record, .525 singles winning percentage, 44-29 doubles record and .603 doubles winning percentage. She ranks among the school's leaders in all four categories. She is currently a resident in the pediatric cardiology department at Boston Children’s Hospital and a fellow at Harvard Medical School.