Faculty Incentive Grant Program winners announced

Faculty Incentive Grant Program winners announced

The Office of the Provost and the Office of Grants and Sponsored Programs are pleased to announce the following winners of the FY 2014 Faculty Incentive Grant Program:

(in alphabetical order)

Jonathan Coffman (Health Sciences): “Molecular Analysis of Water and Duck Fecal DNA using 16S Ribosomomal Gene Phenotyping and Legionella Specific Primers”

Kathryn Comer (Arts and Sciences): “Collaborative Assessment for Curricular Design in Barry University’s Developmental English and First-Year Writing Programs”

Sabrina Des Rosiers (Arts and Sciences): “Examination of Acculturation and Alcohol Expectancies among Hispanic Adolescents: Implications for Preventive Interventions”

Tisa McGhee (Social Work): “Using Photovoice in Overtown: A Participatory Action Research Strategy to Create an Asset Map and Document Collective Impact”

Fernando Perez (Arts and Sciences): “Mass Incarceration and its Effects on Black Miami”

An eight-member Grant Review Committee evaluated and scored all 17 applications that were submitted (requesting a total of $77,784).  The top five proposals were funded and all $25,000 allocated for the program will be disseminated.  Thanks to everyone who participated in the third year of this exciting program.

The next funding cycle for the Faculty Incentive Grant Program will be announced in January/February 2014.