Women's Tennis Selected to Capture SSC Crown

Women's Tennis Selected to Capture SSC Crown
Barry women's tennis team is aiming to win a fifth straight SSC championship. Photo by Joel Auerbach

WINTER PARK, Fla. – For the first time the Sunshine State Conference will crown a regular season women’s tennis champion in 2014. The Barry Buccaneers were picked to finish atop the standings in 2014.

In a poll conducted among the SSC head women’s tennis coaches, the Buccaneers tallied 64 points and received eight of the nine first-place votes. Lynn was selected second with 57 points and received the remaining first-place vote.

Only one point separated Rollins (46 points) and Saint Leo (45 points) for the third and fourth spots. Florida Southern was tabbed fifth with 37 points. Florida Tech (25 points) and Nova Southeastern (24 points) were also separated by just one point for the sixth and seventh spots.

Tampa (18 points) and Eckerd (8 points) rounded out the preseason poll.

The Buccaneers won their fourth-straight SSC Tournament Championship in 2013 before advancing to the NCAA Division II Quarterfinals.

Barry returns five All-SSC players, including first-team singles selection junior Linda Fritschken. Fritschken was also named second-team doubles with returning sophomore Kimmy Twelker. Sophomores Elisabeth Abanda and Emma Onila both return after earning first-team doubles honors as well as second-team singles accolades. Sophomore Karina Goia was also named second-team singles.

During the fall season, Fritschken and Onila teamed up to win the 2013 USTA/ITA Division II Small College Doubles National Championship. The tandem then won the event’s “Super Bowl” Championship after competing against the other divisional champions.

Lynn returns two All-SSC players, including SSC Freshman of the Year Valentine Confalonieri. Confalonieri and returning senior Ioana Ivan were both named first team singles and doubles.

During the fall season, Confalonieri captured the 2013 USTA/ITA Division II Small College Singles National Championship. She also went on to win the event’s “Super Bowl” title after competing against the other divisional champions.

The women’s tennis season begins on Saturday, Feb. 1.

2014 Sunshine State Conference Preseason Women’s Tennis Poll

Rank – Team, Points (1st-place votes)
1 – Barry, 64 (8)
2 – Lynn, 57 (1)
3 – Rollins, 46
4 – Saint Leo, 45
5 – Florida Southern, 37
6 – Florida Tech, 25
7 – Nova Southeastern, 24
8 – Tampa, 18
9 – Eckerd, 8