Hallbergson-Lewis Honored at NCAA Convention

Hallbergson-Lewis Honored at NCAA Convention

SAN DIEGO—NCAA Division II wrapped up the year-long celebration of its 40th anniversary at the NCAA convention in San Diego last Saturday by formally introducing its 40th Anniversary Tribute Team…which includes former Barry University tennis star Anna Hallbergson-Lewis.

Originally announced last February, the Tribute Team is comprised of 2 athletes…one male and one female…from each of D-II’s current 23 conferences along with 2 at-large members.

Each conference submitted a list of nominees representative of Division II’s ideals with the only requirements that they attended an active D-II school and had exhausted their eligibility within the past 40 years.

Joining Hallbergson-Lewis from the Sunshine State Conference on the Tribute Team is former Saint Leo University cross country star Ken Corigliano.

Hallbergson played at Barry from 1998-2000. She had a 31-28 singles record, .525 singles winning percentage, 44-29 doubles record and .603 doubles winning percentage. She ranks among the school's leaders in all four categories.

She had a 4.0 grade point average in pre-med/biology. She was a member of the SSC Commissioner's Honor Roll from 1998-00. She was an all-SSC selection in 1998 and 1999, and was a member of the Bucs first SSC title-winning team in 1998.

She was a 1999 and 2000 ITA All-American, a 2000 Walter Byers Scholarship winner, a 2000 NCAA Woman of the Year state of Florida winner and 2000 NCAA Woman of the Year top-10 finalist. Hallbergson won the 1999 and 2000 Barry Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year. She was a 1999 GTE/CoSIDA Academic All-American.

Honored for multiple scientific primary author publications from 2002-05, she received the Ben B. Blivaiss Graduate Research Travel Award in 2003 and won the Rosalind Franklin University Student Council Leadership Award in 2004 and 2005.

Hallbergson-Lewis was the 2005 Chicago Chapter for Neuroscience Graduate Symposium Winner. She was the MD/PhD student association founder and president from 2003-04. She was the graduate school class president from 2004-05. She received a PhD in neuroscience with distinction in 2005.

Hallbergson-Lewis initiated and set up a CD library at the pediatric unit at Lutheran General Hospital in Chicago. She formed the Adolescent Substance Abuse Prevention program, teaching middle school students about organ damage caused by smoking, alcohol and drug abuse by demonstrating actual damaged organs. She was involved in First Aid teaching, where she demonstrated the function and use of each component in a first aid kid at different schools. She was part of poster-judging competition, encouraging and guiding students interested in science at a neuroscience poster competition.

Division II gained its own unique intercollegiate athletics identity when Divisions I, II and III were formalized during a special NCAA Convention held in 1973. Prior to that, the NCAA was organized into two divisions – “University” and “College.”

The year-long 40th Anniversary celebration featured a number of initiatives branded by Division II’s tradition, history and community influence. A special 40th Anniversary highlight video was unveiled to Division II membership during the 2013 NCAA Convention, officially kicking off the celebration.

The NCAA Division II 40th Anniversary Tribute Team
California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA)
Violet Palmer (Cal Poly Pomona Women’s Basketball, 1984-88)
Chris Wondolowski (Chico State Men’s Soccer, 2001-04)
Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC)
Michelle DePolo (Georgian Court University Women’s Basketball; Soccer; Softball, 1999-03)
Nicholas Harriott (Caldwell College Men’s Soccer, 2004-08)
Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA)
Barvenia Wooten-Cherry (Virginia Union University Women’s Basketball, 1980-83)
Timmy Newsome (Winston-Salem State University Football, 1976-80)
Conference Carolinas (CC)
Stephanie Ferri-Lewis (Pfeiffer University Women’s Cross Country; Soccer; Swimming, 1991-94)
Clint Bryant (Belmont Abbey College Men’s Basketball, 1973-77)
East Coast Conference (ECC)
Donna Orender (Queens College Women’s Basketball, 1975-78)
Brian Kilmeade (LIU Post Men’s Soccer, 1982-86)
Great American Conference (GAC)
Janet Cherobon-Bawcom (Harding University Women’s Cross Country; Track and Field, 2000-05)
Drew Beard (Southeastern Oklahoma State University Football, 2001-04)
Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC)
Gail Goestenkors (Saginaw Valley State University Women’s Basketball, 1981-85)
Tom Izzo (Northern Michigan University Men’s Basketball, 1973-77)
Great Lakes Valley Conference (GLVC)
Sandra Magnus (Missouri S&T Women’s Soccer, 1983-86)
Larry Tucker (Lewis University Men’s Basketball, 1979-83)
Great Northwest Athletic Conference (GNAC)
Mallory Holtman-Fletcher (Central Washington University Softball, 2005-08)
Grant Dykstra (Western Washington University Men’s Basketball, 2002-06)
Gulf South Conference (GSC)
Rachel Price-Bell and Ronda Price-Brinley (University of North Alabama Volleyball, 1996-00)
Radovan Chrz (University of West Florida Men’s Tennis, 2000-04)
Heartland Conference (HC)
Kelsey Baird (St. Edward’s University Women’s Soccer, 2005-09)
Collin Mayer (St. Edward’s University Men’s Golf, 2007-10)
Lone Star Conference (LSC)
Dr. Tammi Julch-Williams (Texas Women’s University Basketball, 1990-94)
Roberto Garza (Texas A&M University-Kingsville Football; Track & Field, 1997-2000)
Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association (MIAA)
Teri Clemens (Truman State University Volleyball, 1974-78)
Jim Crane (University of Central Missouri Baseball, 1973-76)
Northeast-10 Conference (NE-10)
Johannah Leedham (Franklin Pierce University Women’s Basketball, 2006-10)
J. Terence Carleton (Bentley College Men’s Soccer, 1973-76)
Northern Sun Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (NSIC)
Lauren Brown (Winona State University Women’s Track and Field; Volleyball, 2007-10)
Bob Bowlsby (Minnesota State University Moorhead Wrestling, 1972-75)
Pacific West Conference (PacWest)
Samantha Murphy (Grand Canyon University Women’s Basketball, 2007-11)
Tsung-Hsien “Jet” Chang (BYU-Hawaii Men’s Basketball, 2010-12)
Peach Belt Conference (PBC)
Dr. Amy Amundson-Smith (Georgia College and State University Women’s Basketball, 1989-92)
Stilian Shishkov (Lander University Men’s Soccer, 1993-95)
Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC)
Lori Pio-Jacques (East Stroudsburg University Women’s Basketball, 1993-96)
David Williams (Bloomsburg University Men’s Tennis, 1978-81)
Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference (RMAC)
Elva Martinez-Dryer (Western State Colorado University Women’s Cross Country; Track and Field, 1991-95)
Danny Woodhead (Chadron State College Football, 2004-07)
South Atlantic Conference (SAC)
Kate Griewisch (Lenoir-Rhyne University Women’s Cross Country; Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field, 2009-12)
Patrick Bartlett (Wingate University Men’s Basketball; Soccer; Tennis, 1996-00)
Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC)
Selina B. Kohn (Albany State University Women’s Basketball, 1990-94)
Edwin Moses (Morehouse College, 1974-78)
Sunshine State Conference
Anna Hallbergson (Barry University Women’s Tennis, 1997-2000):
Ken Corigliano (Saint Leo University Men’s Cross Country, 2002-06)
West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WVIAC)
Mindy Young-Gagliardi (University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown Women’s Basketball, 1988-92)
Sean Isgan (University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown Wrestling, 1977-82)
At-Large (NCAA)
Sheila Baxter (Virginia State University Women’s Basketball, 1973-77)
Shane Carwin (Western State Colorado University Football and Wrestling, 1995-99)