Hardy Named To Women's Basketball All-Region First Team

Hardy Named To Women's Basketball All-Region First Team
Tyler Hardy became the first Buccaneer to earn a spot on the All-Region First Team since Mariesa Greene in 2010. Photo by Jim Hogue.

CLEVELAND, Miss.—Barry’s Tyler Hardy paced four Sunshine State Conference players on the 2013-14 Daktronics All-South Region women’s basketball team announced on Thursday.

Hardy, the Sunshine State Conference Player of the Year, led the Buccaneers to a 16-11 mark. She was second in the SSC in scoring (20.0) and rebounding (8.7) and led the league with 11 double-doubles.

She was joined by Kayk Wilson of Florida Tech and Terri Manigrasso from Saint Leo on the first team. Seneca Walton of Delta State and the Gulf South Conference was named the region’s player of the year in a narrow vote over Hardy.  Walton led the GSC in rebounding and field goal percentage while recording 14 double-doubles. Jordan Smith of the GSC’s Alabama-Huntsville rounded out the first team.

The All-Region Second Team includes Taylor Buie (Nova Southeastern), Artisha Holston (Albany State), Nichelle Fillmore (North Alabama), Jasmine Hammon (Alabama-Huntsville) and Ashley Watts (Paine College).

Sports information directors from NCAA Division II South Region schools and conferences selected the two Daktronics All-Region teams. The process concludes with All-American selections announced later in the month.

The team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition. The team is voted on by the NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (D2SIDA).

2013-14 Daktronics NCAA Division II Women’s Basketball All-South Region Team

First Team
Tyler Hardy, Barry University (Senior, Ann Arbor, Mich.)
Teresa Manigrasso, Saint Leo (Senior, Atlantic Highlands, N.J.)
Jordan Smith, Alabama-Huntsville (Senior, Hoover, Ala.)
Seneca Walton, Delta State (Junior, Clarksdale, Miss.)
Kayk Wilson, Florida Tech (Junior, Rockledge, Fla.)

Second Team
Taylor Buie, Nova Southeastern (Sophomore, Puyallup, Wash.)
Nichelle Filmore, North Alabama (Senior, Birmingham, Ala.)
Jasmine Hammon, Alabama-Huntsville (Senior, Augusta, Ga.)
Artisha Holston, Albany State (Freshman, Butler, Ga.)
Ashley Watts, Paine College (Junior, Muscle Shoals, Ala.)

South Region Player of the Year
Seneca Walton, Delta State (Junior, Clarksdale, Miss.)