Division of Student Affairs recognizes student leaders

Division of Student Affairs recognizes student leaders

On Thursday, April 10, the Division of Student Affairs recognized more than 50 Barry University students and staff at its annual Student Affairs Awards Banquet.

Recognizing the Catholic and Dominican heritage of Barry University, the Division of Student Affairs offers a developmental and student centered approach to transformative Catholic education through the provision of extra- and co-curricular programs and services.

Among the awards granted each year is the Excellence in Leadership Awards, which are granted to one student in each academic class. Those awards are the John Graves Thompson Award for Outstanding Freshmen, the Mother Gerald Barry Award for Outstanding Sophomore, the Dr. George J. Wanko for Outstanding Junior, and the President’s Award for Outstanding Senior.

The nominees and award winners for the Excellence in Leadership Awards are:

John Graves Thompson Award nominees:

  • Laura Gagliardi
  • John Powell
  • Rebecca Leppert
  • Teri Weinstein
  • Courtlyn Heard

Winner: Laura Gagliardi

Mother Gerald Barry Award nominees:

  • Alejandro Tobon
  • Donte Roberts
  • Kelly Merrill Jr.
  • Devin Plaskett
  • Justin Hoyte

Winner: Alejandro Tobon

Dr. George J Wanko Award nominees:

  • Geraldine Bendezu
  • Cheryl Frazier
  • Sheila Perez
  • Lavelle Dunn
  • Claudette Marchena

Winner: Geraldine Bendezu

President’s Award nominees

  • Leslie Redmond
  • Khalid El-Amin
  • Akemi Maehama
  • Bibiana Potestad
  • Martha Lopez
  • Kellina Langaigne
  • Colette Eule

Winner: Khalid El-Amin

In addition to the Excellence in Leadership Awards, Student Affairs bestowed awards in 19 additional categories including Student Government Association, Housing and Residence Life, and Center for Student Involvement. Below is a full list of award winners:

SGA Awards:

  • Kermit El-Amin – Senator of the Year
  • Lavelle Dunn – Most Outstanding SGA Member of the Year


  • Alejandro Tobon - Greek Person of the Year
  • Wilson Acosta - President of the Year
  • Lambda Theta Phi -  Chapter of the Year


  • Chemistry Week - Best Event of the Year
  • Katherine Douglas - President of the Year
  • Caribbean Student Association – RSO of the Year


  • K’yera Williams – Executive Board Member of Year
  • Geraldine Bendezu – Program of the Year
  • Daniel Marin – Committee Member of the Year

Orientation Team

  • Kellina Langaigne
  • Devin Plaskett

First Year Experience:

  • Laura Gagliardi – Passport Award

Alternative Spring Break

  • Gabriel Sanchez - Outstanding Commitment
  • Martha Lopez - Inspirational Leadership
  • Qiwen Su - Uncommon Generosity

Alumni Affairs:

  • Kermit El-Amin
  • Laura Gagliardi

Campus Recreation & Wellness:

  • Ricardo DeMoya - Outstanding Service-work study student of the year
  • Eddie Sloan - Recreational Participant of the Year - male
  • Shamyra Vanterpool - Recreational Participant of the Year -female    

Disability Services: Notetakers

  • Tiffany Allen
  • Javelle Campbell                                              
  • Anthony Carter                                                 
  • Angela Dilasquale                    
  • Chrystal Harley
  • Lashanti Jupp              
  • Jennifer Lopez                                     
  • Natalie Perez Del Rio                                                    
  • Mouseline Rosier          
  • Josmarie Valencia        
  • Leika Voltaire   

International & Multicultural Programs:

  • Andres Quevedo – International Student of the Year
  • Stephan Sajous – International Ambassador of the Year

Career Development:

  • Precious Ezeamama

Office of Mission Engagement:

  • Nagbe Dixon
  • Sebastian Ogando       

Community Learning Partnership:

  • Corey Stein                
  • Nicole Ogando                         


Mission Integration Council:

  • Leslie Redmond           
  • Michael Malinowski

Housing and Residence Life:

  • Unique Harston – RA of the Year

Campus Ministry:

  • Leslie Redmond - Saint Rose of Lima Award

Homecoming 2014 Best Event: Barry Beauties

  • Produced by Josephine Brown and Ben Otero

Center for Student Involvement:

  • Shanaz Maharaj
  • Sheila Perez
  • Angie Jaimes
  • Andy Havens

Vice President of Student Affairs:

  • Robyn Firth – Outstanding Graduate Research Assistant
  • Adela Langa – Commitment to Diversity
  • Shaunie Wall – Outstanding Student Affairs Staff Member
  • Bacheler Jean Pierre – Outstanding New Professional
  • Ryan O’Donnell – Division of Student affairs Appreciation Award