Men’s Soccer Lands Two On All-SSC Team

WINTER PARK, Fla.—Barry Men’s soccer players Johnny Rodrigues and Thomas Coombes have been named to the 2013 All-SSC Men’s Soccer Team.

Rodrigues, a senior, was named to the second team. The goalkeeper started all 18 games and played every minute in goal for the Bucs this season. He had a 1.87 goals allowed average, 89 saves, and participated in four shuts outs. A two-time first-team pick, it was his fourth career selection.

Thomas Coombes, the sophomore forward, was named an honorable mention to the All-SSC team. He led the team with nine goals, including four game winners, and started in all 17 games he played in.

The two all-conference players helped guide Barry to an 8-8-2 record and into the SSC tournament semifinals, in which they’ll face number one seed Saint Leo. 

2013 All-SSC Men’s Soccer Team


F – Tyler Blackwood, Tampa (Jr.)

F – Tucker Hume, Rollins (So.)

F – Maximilian Schulz-Geisthovel, Saint Leo (Fr.)

M – Alex Bisbee, Rollins (Sr.)

M – Edgar Herrera, Saint Leo (Sr.)

M – Tosan Popo, Rollins (Fr.)

D – Nicola Brivio, Nova Southeastern (So.)

D – Walker Hume, Rollins (So.)

D – Chris Lavie, Saint Leo (Sr.)

GK – Keneil Baker, Rollins (Sr.)

At-Large – Manuel Schoenhuber, Saint Leo (So.)


Player of the Year – Tyler Blackwood, Tampa

Offensive Player of the Year – Tyler Blackwood, Tampa

Defensive Player of the Year – Walker Hume, Rollins

Freshman of the Year – Tosan Popo, Rollins

Coach of the Year – Keith Fulk, Saint Leo


F – Grant Blackhurst, Rollins (So.)

F – Chris Hellman, Lynn (Fr.)

F – Rafa Faria, Rollins (Sr.)

M – Melvin Agyei Boateng, Saint Leo (Jr.)

M – Luke Jenner, Florida Southern (Sr.)

M – Michael O’Neil, Lynn (Gr.)

D – Javier Lopez Mochon, Lynn (Jr.)

D – Jason Sangha, Lynn (Jr.)

D – Jack Winter, Lynn (Jr.)

GK – Johnny Rodrigues, Barry (Sr.)

At-Large – Andrew Clare, Tampa (Jr.)

At-Large – Stefano Fanfoni, Nova Southeastern (So.)


F – Thomas Coombes, Barry (So.)