Softball Lands Five On All-Conference Team

Softball Lands Five On All-Conference Team
Sarah Broeseker becomes just the third player in school history to be named conference player of the year. Photo by Joel Auerbach.

WINTER PARK, Fla.—The Barry Buccaneers, who finished tied for second in the Sunshine State Conference, placed five players on the all-conference softball team. Barry claimed two of the major awards announced as part of the 2013 All-Sunshine State Conference Softball Team on Wednesday.  Senior third baseman Sarah Broeseker was named Player of the Year, while outfielder Megan Copeland was selected Freshman of the Year. 

A senior from Palm Harbor, Fla., Broeseker led the SSC with a .423 batting average.  She drove in 32 runs and scored 32 more.  Her .604 slugging percentage was second in the league, as was her .491 on-base percentage.  Broeseker tallied 63 total hits (2nd SSC), including 13 doubles (T4th) and four triples (T1st). Broeseker was particularly effective in conference, hitting .500 with 18 runs and 17 RBI in 24 games. She walked 13 times, against just six strikeouts, for a .583 on-base percentage and belted seven doubles, three triples and a homer to slug .729. Broeseker becomes just the third Buccaneer to earn conference player of the year honors, joining Stephanie Caldwell (1998, 1999) and Katie Clift (1994).

In her debut season out of Tarpon Springs, Fla., Copeland batted .377 with 31 runs and seven RBI.  Starting all 50 of the Buccaneers’ games, she elevated her play even more in conference action, batting .443 against league opponents.  Copeland was also a threat on the base paths, succeeding in 25 of her 27 steal attempts.  Her 25 stolen bases ranked fifth in the SSC. In conference games, she was a perfect 13-of-13 in stealing bases and struck out just twice in 79 at-bats. Copeland is the sixth Buccaneer to be named freshman of the year. Previous winners include Caldwell (1997), Brittney Ledford (1999), Kim Fujimoto (2003), Shyla Rider (2006) and Amanda Goelz (2007).

Both Broeseker and Copeland were named to the first team, along with sophomore second baseman Kelly Martinez. Martinez was one of the Bucs’ hottest hitters down the stretch, hitting .383 for the season and .523 in the month of April. She scored 24 runs and drove in 30. She tied for the team lead with four homers and was second with 12 doubles and 12 stolen bases. Against conference teams, she hit .431 with three homers and 17 RBI.  

Sophomore first baseman Julie Brito and senior pitcher Alexis Yohe were named to the second team.

Brito batted .350 with 16 runs scored, 12 doubles, and led the team with 33 RBI. She posted a .992 fielding percentage and ranked second in the league in putouts. In conference games, she hit .312 with eight doubles and 16 RBI.

Yohe was 18-7 overall with one save and a 1.38 ERA in 162.2 innings. She struck out 136 and held opponents to a .193 average.  She was second in the conference in shutouts with eight and completed 19 of her 25 starts. In conference games, she led the league with a 14-1 record (a .933 winning percentage). She tossed six shutouts, including one-hit efforts against Rollins and Lynn and fired a five-inning perfect game against Florida Tech.

The Bucs open play in the NCAA Division II South Region 2 Tournament in Huntsville, Ala., on Friday, May 10. They face off with North Alabama at 4:00 pm at UAH Charger Field. Livestats and audio broadcast from the event will be available on through the GameCentral portal powered by Stretch Internet.  


1B – Meagan Burke, Tampa (So)
2B – Kelly Martinez, Barry (So)
3B – Sarah Broeseker, Barry (Sr)
SS – Kayleen Boatwright, Tampa (So)
C – Kylee Hardesty, Saint Leo (Jr)
OF – McKenzie Burns, Saint Leo (So)
OF – Megan Copeland, Barry (Fr)
OF – Aimee Halpin, Rollins (Sr)
OF – Kristie Hoeffer, Rollins (Jr)
DP – Sarah Steiner, Saint Leo (Junior)
UT – Hannah Lovestrand, Rollins (Sr)
P – Kayla Cox, Tampa (Jr)
P – Niki Fogle, Rollins (Fr)
At-Large – Elaine Brown, Florida Tech (Fr)

Player of the Year – Sarah Broeseker, Barry
Pitcher of the Year – Kayla Cox, Tampa
Freshman of the Year – Megan Copeland, Barry
Coach of the Year – John Conway, Saint Leo

1B – Julie Brito, Barry (So)
2B – Stacy Piagno, Tampa (Sr)
3B – Rachelle Gremo, Saint Leo (Sr)
SS – Samira Tanaka, Nova Southeastern (Jr)
C – Veronica Alred, Rollins (Jr)
OF – Katie Bannon, Tampa (Sr)
OF – Kaycie Duncan, Eckerd (Fr)
OF – Courtney Durbin, Rollins (Fr)
OF – Chelsey Steedley, Saint Leo (Jr)
UT – Kasey Murray, Lynn (Jr)
P – Alana Tabel, Saint Leo (Fr)
P – Alexis Yohe, Barry (Sr)
At-Large – Megan Still, Saint Leo (Sr)