Barry University | *CCSI* Community Engagement Awards

Award Winners

Celebrating community-engaged learning, teaching, service, and scholarship

2014 - 2023

Service	2023	Ekaterina Elagina
&	2022	Facilities Management
	2021	Barry Premier Events Team
Community	2020	Nair Manuel (Business)
Engagement Support	2019	• Francesca Gerard (Education)
oupport.		Joanne Ittilucksatit (Education)
		Merlene Nembhard (Library)
		Department of Marketing
	2017	Amanda Knight (Athletics)
	2016	Sandra Acevedo (Human Performance and Leisure Sciences)
		Grace Ralfelt (Information Technology)
		Kerri-Quaan Stewart (Information Technology)
	2015	Deborah Montague (Arts and Sciences)
	2014	James Carrig (Human Performance and Leisure Sciences)

		 Yleinia Galeano (Center for Community Service Initiatives) Margaret Grizzle (Community)
Community Impact	2023	Ketty St. Hubert Valentine Thomas
	2022	Amanda Gonzalez Garcia Joseph Minani
	2021	Isaly OrtizDai' Jonnai Smith
	2020	 Martina Muñoz Pa Sheikh Ngom Chemistry Club
	2019	Paola Lopez-Hernandez Antonio Rodriguez
	2018	 Wills Compere Presler Maxius Paris Razor
	2017	 Naif Alkhathran Jasmine McKee Paola Montenegro
	2016	 Bethany Dill Laura Gagliardi Christopher Riker Asha Starks BarryU Softball Team Minority Association of Pre-Health Students (MAPS) Student Managed Investment Fund (SMIF) Volunteer Income Tax Assistance Program – Barry School of Law
	2015	Connor Randel Quayneshia Smith

	2014	Hector PizarroAlejandro Tobon
Community Partnership	2022	Hubert O. Sibley K–8 Academy South Florida People of Color
	2021	Bread for the World
	2020	The New Florida Majority PACT: People Acting for Community Together
	2019	 Haitian Youth and Community Center of Florida, Inc. Palm Beach County Sheriff's Office
	2018	 Historic Virginia Key Beach Park MCCJ Women's Breast and Heart Initiative
	2017	Gang Alternative Miami Beach Community Church
		Urban GreenWorks
		William H. Turner Technical Arts High School
	2016	 Church World Service Coalition of Immokalee Workers & Student/Farmworker Alliance
		The Collaborative Family Law Group of Central Florida Special Olympics Florida
	2015	 League of Women Voters of Florida Miami Children's Initiative Volunteer Income Tax Assistance Partnership
	2014	 Feeding South Florida Miami Edison Senior High School Mount Tabor Missionary Baptist Church
Community	2023	 Dr. Dale Hartz (Business) Dr. Katsiaryna Matusevich (Education)

Engagement		
Educator	2021	Dr. Jalane Meloun (Education)
	2020	• Dr. Lilia DiBello (Education)
		Dr. Sean D. Foreman (Political Science)
	2019	Dr. Anthony Sadler (Business)
		• Dr. Lauren Shure (Education)
	2018	Fabio Naranjo (Social Work)
	2017	
	2017	 Dr. Stephanie Bingham (Biology) Dr. Marc Lavallee (Theology and Philosophy)
	2016	Dr. Ricardo Jimenez (Mathematics and Computer Science)
		•
	2015	• Steffano Montano (Theology and Philosophy)
	2014	• Dr. Philip H. Mann (Business)
Community-	2018	• Dr. Ruth Ban (Education)
Based Research	2015	• Dr. Lauren Shure (Education)
	2014	Dr. Gerene Starratt (Education)
		Dr. Nauris Tamulevicius (Human Performance and
		Leisure Sciences)
Community-	2022	Dr. Sean Foreman and Dr. Jalane Meloun
Engaged		Dr. Heidi Whitford
Scholarship	2020	Dr. Mureen Shaw (Nursing and Health Sciences)
	2017	Dr. Adam Dean (Communication)
	2016	Dr. Pamela Hall (Psychology)
	2015	Dr. Laura Finley (Sociology and Criminology)
		• Dr. Tisa McGhee (Social Work)
G.	2021	• Sister Mary Frances Fleischaker (Theology and Philosophy)
Service-		
Learning	2020	• Dr. Samuel Doss (Business)
Faculty		Dr. Raul Machuca (Education)
	2019	Dr. Silvia Maciá (Biology)

	2018	Nicole Beltran (Fine Arts)
	2017	Dr. Pamela Hall (Psychology)
	2016	• Dr. Kevin Kemerer (Business)
		Dr. Mitchell Rosenwald (Social Work)
	2015	Dr. Paula Alexander-Delpech (Nursing)
	2014	Dr. Tamara Hamilton (Physical Sciences)
Engaged Department	2021	School of Business
	2020	Center for Earth Jurisprudence
	2019	CNHS Graduate and Undergraduate Nursing
	2018	School of Law
	2017	Communication
	2016	Physical Sciences
		Sport and Exercise Sciences
	2015	School of Social Work
	2014	Sociology and Criminology
Special Award	2019	Sister Linda Bevilacqua, OP, PhD (President)
	2014	Dr. Karen Callaghan (Arts and Sciences)

Barry University

CCSI | Center for Community Service Initiatives