Barry honors staff dedication with Employee Recognition Awards

Barry honors staff dedication with Employee Recognition Awards

On Friday, April 26, Barry University held its Year End Celebration to honor the nominees and winners of Barry’s Employee Recognition Awards. In all, 43 Barry employees were nominated with a winner being chosen in each of the five categories: Visionary, EPIC, Helping Hands, Impact, and the Sister Jeanne O’Laughlin Administrative Professional.

The celebration wrapped up a week of employee appreciation events which began on Monday, April 22 with the Earth Day celebrations. On Tuesday, Barry hosted its Years of Service Luncheon where 44 employees were honored for committing 20, 25, and 30 years of service to the university.

On Wednesday, Barry celebrated Administrative Professionals Day featuring keynote speaker Dr. Michael Provitera who spoke about “Mastering Your Self-Motivation.”

The Work Study Appreciation Luncheon took place on Thursday and was attended by 200 work study students. Jennifer M. Gonzalez, a junior majoring in athletic training, was named the Federal Work Study Student of the Year.

Thursday was also Employee Appreciation Day. Faculty and staff were given the opportunity to select an activity which included a massage, manicure or car wash. Massages were provided by Euphoric Healing Chiropractic Health Center, located in Miami Gardens. Manicures were provided by Lace Nails, located in Miami Beach, and the Car Wash service was provided by Lambda Theta Phi fraternity.

Below is a list of Barry Excellence Awards nominees and winners. Human Resources would like to thank the 40 volunteers who served as selection committee members awards and all who assisted in making each event possible.

Impact Award

Winner: Brett Klein
Dr. Glenn Bowen
Maria Dopico
Manuel Gonzalez
Henley Marcelus
Ryan O’Donnell
Kelley Eddington
Lance Mason
Paola Moreno
Ingrid Alexis-Goodman

Helping Hands Award

Winner: Joann Clarke
Cruz Figueroa
Ercilia Valbrun
Odile Bonhomme
Olga Nunez

Sister Jeanne O’Laughlin Administrative Professional Award

Michelle Aznarez
Janet Dowd
Susan Lang
Dianne Kushi
Yaniet Rodriguez
Shena Matter
Iris Vendettuoli
Stephanie Davis
Heyen McKennis

EPIC Award

John Baldwin
John Krazit
Gloria Arcia
Margot Swan
Claris "Lynette" Cupido
Jocelyn Goulet
Kathleen Craig
Gladys Amador
Marjorie Loring

Visionary Award

Dr. Roxanne Davies
Mary "Laura" Corriss
Dr. Leticia Diaz
Lena Mercea
Dr. Tomislav Mandakovic
John Moriarty
Jennifer Boyd-Pugh
Deborah Montague
Elizabeth Besade
Regina Lopez