Rowing Has Strong Showing On All-SSC Team

Rowing Has Strong Showing On All-SSC Team
The varsity 8+ boat earned SSC Boat of the Year after a strong season. Photo by Bridget Lyons.
ORLANDO— The Barry University rowing team had a strong showing on the All-Sunshine State Conference Rowing Team as five Buccaneers made the list. Head coach Dave Sanderson was named Coach of the Year while the Buccaneer Varsity 8+ was selected Boat of the Year.
Voting for the all-conference rowing team was conducted among rowing coaches and sports information directors at member institutions that sponsor the sport.
Two Buccaneers received All-SSC First-Team honors while three earned all-freshman/novice team accolades. Senior co-captain Rebekah Evans and sophomore Jaimee Lampard received the first-team nod. Freshman newcomers Brielle Bowers, Kelly Harrison, and Grace Horwitz, earned spots on the all-freshman squad. Each of the five Buccaneers named to the team were intricate members of the Bucs’ varsity 8+ team.
Buccaneer skipper Sanderson wins his first Coach of the Year award in just his third year at the helm in Miami Shores. His Buccaneers won the SSC Championship, the first for the program since 2006.
The Barry Varsity 8+ was the driving force behind the Bucs' success this season. The crew registered a first-place finish in eight different races, including the SSC Championship final. The Buccaneer Eight also notched victories in duel races against Dowling, Central Oklahoma, Philadelphia, UC-San Diego, Florida Tech, Charleston, and Nova Southeastern. Additionally, the Barry Varsity Eight rowed to a third-place finish at the SIRA regatta and a second-place finish at the prestigious Dad Vail Regatta.
The Bucs’ Varsity Eight earned an at-large bid, and will wrap up their season when they compete in the NCAA Division II Rowing Championship May 28-30. For more information on the regatta, click here.
Kim Dirschka (Rollins, Sr)
Rebekah Evans (Barry, Sr)
Elizabeth Hurley (Nova Southeastern, Jr)
Jaimee Lampard (Barry, So)
Julie Mabry (Florida Tech, Sr)
Alyssa O'Donnell (Nova Southeastern, So)
Michelle Sosa (Rollins, So)
Sarah Vines (cox) (Florida Tech, So)
Becky Werle (Florida Tech, Sr)
Boat of the Year - Barry Varsity 8
Coach of the Year - Dave Sanderson, Barry
Brielle Bowers (Barry, Fr)
Molly Broome (Rollins, Fr)
Kelly Harrison (Barry, Fr)
Grace Horwitz (cox) (Barry, Fr)
Amber Morrell (Nova Southeastern, Fr)
Aline Seekins (Florida Tech, Jr)