45 Buccaneers Earn D2ADA Academic Achievement Award

45 Buccaneers Earn D2ADA Academic Achievement Award

CLEVELAND -- The Division II Athletics Directors Association (D2ADA) announced the 2011-12 recipients of the D2ADA Academic Achievement Awards. The Academic Achievement Awards is a program that recognizes the academic accomplishments of student-athletes at the NCAA Division II level.

A record number of institutions (118) and student-athletes (4,492) are being recognized for the 2011-12 Academic Achievement Awards. The Pennsylvania State Athletic Association had 557 student-athletes honored, a record-high for the program, followed by the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) with 400 student-athletes being recognized and the Great Lakes Valley Conference (GLVC) with 398 student-athletes being acknowledged with this award.

Barry had 45 members of the list as part of a contingent 369 strong from the Sunshine State Conference.

"The D2ADA would like to thank and congratulate the institutions that took part in honoring the record-number of 4,492 student-athletes with 2011-12 Academic Achievement Awards," stated D2ADA President Anita Barker, director of athletics at Chico State University. "Recognizing and honoring deserving Division 2 student-athletes is a strategic goal of the D2ADA. This award gives us the platform to showcase these individuals and their efforts in the classroom, as well as on the playing field."

In order for a student-athlete to receive an Academic Achievement Award, the athletics director of the Division 2 institution must be a current dues paying member of the D2ADA.  

Also, the student-athlete must:
• have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale
• have attended a minimum of two years (four semesters) of college level work
• have been an active member of an intercollegiate team during his/her last academic year

See all Barry winners listed below.

Men’s Basketball
Jason Llaneras

Women’s Basketball
Colette Eule
Amanda Frontino
Shanna Suttington
Alexandria Zamora

Alex Decker
Harold Holness
Kevin Youst

Kristina Boncheva
Jennifer Feriozzi
Renee Forcier
Courtney Greene

Men’s Golf
Daniel Stapff

Women’s Golf
Taylor Babcock
Anne Fourdraine
Lizzi Over

Sarah Broeseker
Grace Collins
Paula Mackin
Hannah Shy
Cassy Zamora

Men’s Soccer
Mark Anderson
Joe Conkleton
Joong Kim
Houghton Kinsman
Lucas Noboa
Guilherme Oliveira
Johnny Rodrigues

Women’s Soccer
Emily Brunnschweiler
Ziena Cline
Morgan Garcia
Sofia Jakobsson
Lauren Manna
Katrina Molfetta
Joanna Stewart
Haley Struthers
Melissa Toledo
Sarah Wolfer

Men’s Tennis
Francisco Sigaud

Women’s Tennis
Akemi Maehama
Julie Stas
Caroline Wendling

Alicia Guerrero
Tania Torres
Libby Walter