Clinical Program

Barry University School of Law's clinical programs offer students the opportunity to participate in three in-house clinics (Children and Families Clinic; Environmental and Earth Law Clinic; Immigration Clinic) and several externships (Public Defender; Prosecution; Mediation; Judicial; Children and Families; Civil Government; Civil Poverty, Non-Profit Corporation; Legislative). The school is committed to clinics and externships which are consistent with the Barry Mission to provide experiential learning to the students and service to the community.  Prior to placing law students, supervising attorneys and judges must agree to provide the opportunity for experiential learning in accordance with the specified methods and objectives. Both clinics and externships also have a corresponding classroom component.
 
Students may apply for the various clinics and externships after they fulfill all appropriate prerequisites, usually in the second semester of or after their second year of study.

Certified Student Practice

Many of the externship programs require students to be certified as legal interns but some do not. The Immigration Clinic and Environmental & Earth Law Clinic do not require certification; the Children and Families Clinic does.  Qualified students are certified (CLI status) for such practice by the Florida Supreme Court pursuant to the Student Practice Rule, Chapter 11, Rules of The Florida Bar. The certification process is coordinated by the clinical program office. To be certified (CLI status), a student must:

  1. a. have completed legal studies amounting to four semesters for which he/she has received not less than 48 semester credits (Note: a minimum of six credits is required during the summer term to count as a semester for this purpose.);
  2. b. be certified by the Dean as being of good character and competent legal ability and as being adequately trained to perform as a legal extern;
  3. c. certify in writing that he/she has read and is familiar with the Rules of Professional Conduct as adopted by the Florida Supreme Court and will abide by these provisions; and
  4. d. apply to The Florida Bar and obtain The Florida Bar Board of Bar Examiners’ Notice of Clearance Certificate.

For further information on Externships please contact: Debra Aaron (daaron@barry.edu) or Professor Marvin Rooks (mrooks@barry.edu) or call 407-681-5403.

For further information on Immigration Clinic, please contact: Barbara Pagan (bpagan@barry.edu) or Professor Kate Aschenbrenner (kaschenbrenner@barry.edu) or call 407-681-5403.

For further information on Children and Families Clinic please contact: Barbara Pagan (bpagan@barry.edu) or Professor Katherine Puzone (kpuzone@barry.edu) or call  407-681-5403.

For further information on Environmental and Earth Law Clinic contact Barbara Pagan (bpagan@barry.edu) or Professor Rachel Deming (rdeming@barry.edu )
or call 407-681-5422

Oh oh ....

We are sorry but it appears that JavaScript is disabled on your browser.
Our site is very interactive and it requires JavaScript to be enabled.
Click on the link below for instructions on how to enable JavaScript on your browser.

Enable JavaScript on your browser