Men's Golf Sinks All-American Trifecta

Men's Golf Sinks All-American Trifecta
Marcelo Huarte, Marcus Segerstrom and Daniel Stapff all received Ping All-American honors Tuesday. Photos by Joel Auerbach

NORMAN, Okla. -- Three Barry University men's golfers received NCAA Division II Ping All-America honors Tuesday.

Departing senior Daniel Stapff was named to the Second Team, while sophomore Marcelo Huarte and Marcus Segerstrom earned honorable mention honors.

Stapff, of Curitiba, Brazil, finished his career as the school's all-time victories leader (4) and scoring average leader (72.92). He placed fourth at the NCAA Championships in May.

Huarte, a sophomore from Miami, tied the school record for lowest round (65) this season at the Buccaneer Invitational presented by Carabba's Italian Grill. His best finish was a tie for fourth. At the national championships, Huarte tied for 15th.

Segerstrom, a junior from Nocetalje, Sweden, also tied the school record for lowest round, firing his 65 in the first round of the Bobcat Intercollegiate. He had three top three finishes in 2011-12, and also finished seventh three times. He ripped off birdie after birdie at the NCAA Championships to win his match on the final day of the season.

The Buccaneers finished No. 2 in the GolfStat head-to-head computer poll. Barry, which finished sixth at the NCAA Championships during stroke play, won two tournaments during the spring and another during the fall. Barry had five runner-up finishes.

"We had a very good season even though we came up a little short in our goal of winning the national championship," Bucs coach Jimmy Stobs said. "The team was consistent throughout the year, and proved they were the team to beat. We held the number one ranking for most of the spring, but were just a little off our games at nationals and got beat. With our four returning starters and the players we have coming in, we should be right back in the hunt next year.”

Division II PING All-America Teams

First Team
Matt Atkins, USC-Aiken
Trevor Blair, CSU-Stanislaus
Josh Creel, Central Oklahoma
Adam Hedges, Belmont Abbey
Carlos Rodriguez, West Florida
Marcelo Rozo, Lynn
Kyle Souza, Chico State
Ben Taylor, Nova Southeastern
Jordan Walor, UNC-Pembroke

Second Team
Alex Carpenter, Abilene Christian
Ty Chandler, North Alabama
Eric Frazzetta, Chico State
Jake Greer, North Alabama
Zack Kempa, IUP
Jim Knous, Colorado School of Mines
Oscar Lengden, Nova Southeastern
Daniel Stapff, Barry

Third Team
Ricardo Celia, Nova Southeastern
Kyle Chappell, Dixie State
Daniel Claytor, Barton
Rob Damschen, CSU-Stanislaus
Patrick Garrett, Georgia College
Craig Gibson, Georgia Southwestern
Dylan Goodwin, Western Washington
J.P. Griffin, Georgia Southwestern

Honorable Mention
Matthew Campbell, Newberry
Spencer Cole, Rollins
Case Gard, Florida Southern
Marcelo Huarte, Barry
Luke Kwon, St. Edward’s
Hayden Letian, USC-Aiken
Chris McCracken, CSU-Stanislaus
Jonathan McCurry, UNC-Pembroke
Greg Mergel, Flagler
Cy Moritz, Central Missouri
Matt Motes, Armstrong Atlantic State
Santiago Quintero, St. Edward’s
Kevin Rei, Chico State
Travis Russell, Hawaii-Hilo
Dillon Rust, Central Oklahoma
Marcus Segerstrom, Barry
Taylor Smith, Georgia College
Alex Sobstad, CSU-Monterey Bay
Paul Tighe, Wilmington
Ryan Trocchio, Georgia College
Nick Varelia, Western Washington
Daniel Young, Lynn