School of Podiatric Medicine's class of 2019 celebrates Rite of Passage ceremony

School of Podiatric Medicine's class of 2019 celebrates Rite of Passage ceremony

Barry University’s School of Podiatric Medicine celebrated its annual Rite of Passage ceremony Aug. 25 alongside family and friends, as the 56-member class of 2019 received their white coats.  This event marks the completion of their classroom studies and the beginning of their clinical rotations.

Along with the white coats, several students were recognized for other achievements. Aleksandr Vinogradov, president of the Class of 2019, received the Dr. Harvey Kopelman Award, which was established by the Florida Podiatric Medical Society and Audrey Kopelman. Kopelman, a former Florida Podiatric Medical Association (FPMA) president, practiced in St. Petersburg, Fla., and dedicated more than 50 years of his medical practice to provide the best care possible to each of his patients, as well as to furthering the reputation and well-being of the podiatric profession. He championed malpractice protection for Florida podiatrists and raised the level of care afforded to podiatric patients. Vinogradov was selected by the faculty to receive this award, which includes a $1,000 scholarship, for displaying Kopelman’s leadership qualities and exhibiting dedication to his future profession.

Ashley Daniel, selected for her academic success and demonstration of community service and leadership, was awarded a $1,000 scholarship established by Dr. Bradley Haves, past president of the Florida Podiatric Medical Association, the Dade County Podiatric Medical Association and the Barry Podiatric Alumni Association. The award is in memory of Dr. Barton Baggett (’90), alumnus of the Barry University School of Podiatric Medicine. Baggett served as a podiatric physician at the Family Podiatry Center in Valdosta, Ga.

The Podiatry Insurance Company of America (PICA) Group awards were presented by Dr. Ross Tubman, president and chief medical officer of PICA. PICA was the major sponsor of the Rite of Passage Ceremony. It was an honor to have Taubman travel to Barry University from Nashville.  He presented three awards in the amount of $2,500 each to: Daniel Craig, Ashley Daniel and Alexis Mugno.

The ceremony’s keynote speaker was Dr. Sandra Franco, a two-time Barry alumna (BMS, ’06 and DPM, ’09) and an accomplished podiatric physician who practices in Miramar and Hialeah, Fla. She is the co-founder, chief medical officer, podiatric physician and surgeon at Franco and Company, LLC.

View Photo Gallery