Trial Team & Moot Court Team: Season of Success

Trial Team & Moot Court Team: Season of Success

For much of the past decade, Barry University School of Law’s student advocates have established a tradition of excellence in national trial advocacy and moot court competitions. This year has been no exception, with the Trial Team and Moot Court Team turning in some impressive results. Here are some highlights of national and regional competitions held in 2013-2014:


October 2013

TRIAL TEAM: Barry Law won its first competition of the year – the Golden Gate University School of Law Professor Bernie L. Segal Criminal Mock Trial Competition, which was held in San Francisco.  This was the first time Barry Law participated in this competition.

The Barry team of Michael Cahill, Victor Zamora, Caryna Zamora, and Luis Herrera was coached by Trial Team and Barry alumni Denise Kim (’09) and Jordan Ostroff (’12).  The team went 3-0 in the preliminary rounds and placed No. 1 overall.  The team went on to defeat Hastings in the semifinals and Denver in the finals.  Barry’s team had perfect scores on 15 of 18 ballots.  Individually, Victor Zamora was honored for a perfect score, and Michael Cahill and Luis Herrera were recognized for their outstanding performances.

Eleven other teams competed in the Golden Gate University event:  American University Washington College of Law, Catholic University Columbus School of Law, University of Denver School of Law, Florida State University College of Law, Fordham University School of Law, Hastings College of Law, John Marshall Law School, Pace Law School, St. John's University School of Law, Stetson University College of Law, and University of Texas School of Law.  


November 2013

TRIAL TEAM: Barry Law’s Rachel Jones was awarded Best Opening Statement at the ABA/Quinnipiac Criminal Justice Trial Advocacy competition.


January 2014

TRIAL TEAM: The Barry Law team of advocates –  Jamie Smeriglio, Devan McGowan, Chris Fauntleroy, and Amanda Buschbom – advanced to the Final Four at the Chester E. Bedell (Florida Bar) Trial Team Competition in Orlando.  It was Barry’s best showing at this competition since 2011.  Even more impressive: It was the first-ever competition for all four team members. They showed advocates from across the state that Barry Law’s Trial Team is a force to be reckoned with!


February 2014

MOOT COURT TEAM: Barry Law’s Jordan Mejeur and Scott (Joseph) Miller advanced to the Elite Eight at the Charleston School of Law National Moot Court Competition.  The team was coached by Brian Kozlowski, a Barry Law alumnus and former Chief Justice of Moot Court. Twenty-six teams competed. In the Elite Eight round, Barry lost to George Washington, which ultimately won the overall competition.

This was the first time Barry participated in this competition.


March 2014

MOOT COURT TEAM: The ABA Moot Court team of Brooke Gaffney, Angela Goodrum, and Darrin Chambers advanced to the Sweet Sixteen at the ABA Regional Competition in Washington, D.C.  After three preliminary rounds, the Barry Law team was seeded No. 11 out of 36 teams. 


TRIAL TEAM: The Barry Law Trial Team advanced to the semi-final round of the American Association for Justice Student Trial Advocacy Competition (AAJ) in Fort Lauderdale.

Sixteen teams from 11 law schools competed at the March 20-23 regionals, with the winner advancing to the national finals in Santa Monica, California.  This extremely competitive region included Barry, Stetson University, Tulane University, Loyola University, Louisiana State University, Florida Coastal School of Law, Florida State University, University of Florida, St. Thomas University, Florida A&M University, and Mississippi College.

Barry Law brought two teams, each consisting of 4 Trial Team members.  The team advancing to the semi-final round included advocates Tiffany Walters and Christina Figueroa, who were swing advocates along with their witnesses, Matthew Wolfe and Rihana Quashie.  The second team included Rachel Jones, Erika Powers, Jeffrey James, and Jim Kelly

The AAJ team was coached by former Trial Team members and Barry alums Denise Kim Beamer (’09) and Jordan Ostroff (’12).   


TRIAL TEAM:  At the National Criminal Justice Trial Competition, co-sponsored by the American Bar Association and The John Marshall Law School, the team of Michael Cahill, Luis Herrera, Jocelyn Paiz, and James Smeriglio advanced to the Elite Eight before losing to Harvard. The Barry Law team finished fifth overall.

The faculty advisor for Barry Law’s Moot Court Team is Professor Terri Day. The faculty advisor for Barry Law’s Trial Team is Michael Kraynick.