Barry School of Podiatric Medicine Honors Drs. Paul And Margaret Brand during Historic Graduation

Apr 30, 2011

Barry School of Podiatric Medicine Honors Drs. Paul And Margaret Brand during Historic Graduation

Fifty-four students received the Doctor of Podiatric Medicine degree (DPM) from the Barry University School of Podiatric Medicine (BUSPM) at a commencement ceremony held on Saturday, April 30, 2011. The ceremony which took place at the Broad Center for the Performing Arts on the Barry University Miami Shores campus was attended by more than 900 family, friends, faculty, staff, students, alumni, and guests of the School of Podiatric Medicine.

The commencement not only recognized the accomplishments of the BUSPM class of 2011, but also marked the honoring of two remarkable medical pioneers Dr. Margaret Elizabeth Brand and Dr. Paul Wilson Brand who for four decades treated countless leprosy patients from Vellore, India to Carville, Louisiana. Dr. Margaret Brand accepted an honorary Doctor of Science degree for herself and she also accepted a posthumous honorary Doctor of Science degree on behalf of her late husband Dr. Paul Brand.

The Brands groundbreaking work with leprosy patients made it possible for insensate patients, including those with leprosy and diabetes, to function normally despite enormous handicaps. Both the Brands traveled the world to teach others about their research and treatment successes and served as advocates for their patients.

David G. Armstrong, Professor of Surgery and Director of the University of Arizona's Southern Arizona Limb Salvage Alliance (SALSA), was the keynote speaker at this year's commencement. The speech capped off a busy weekend which also included the historic dedication of the Dr. Paul & Margaret Brand Research Center at Barry University. Dr. Armstrong noted, "To be part of this event with Barry University President Sister Linda Bevilacqua and Barry University Dean Jeffrey Jensen, to honor not only the students for their efforts, but to highlight the lives of two very special clinicians in Paul and Margaret Brand, is an honor that is impossible to articulate." His lecture, entitled "From Proto- to Pro-fessional" focused on themes of service, humility and compassion. Dr. Armstrong added, "To know that these young doctors are going to go out into the rest of their careers with role models that they've collected here at Barry bodes well for the future of medicine in general and for podiatric medicine specifically."

David Auguste, president of the class of 2011 at the Barry University School of Podiatric Medicine indicated, "beginning with the experience of seeing our first patient to this our commencement day, the many sacrifices we have made will enable us the unique privilege of caring for our fellow man. During our clinical experiences we have developed relationships with our classmates and professors that we will cherish for the rest of our lives."

Many awards were presented to the class of 2011: The President's Award went to Jonathan Selbst, sponsored by Podiatric Billing Services and Bako Labs; Dean's Award went to Annabelle Santos-Dookie, sponsored by Dr. ComfortDade County Podiatric Medical Association, and FootcareXpress; Raymond D. Ibañez, Jr., DPM Memorial Awardwent to Hana Finn, sponsored by the Ibañez Family and private donations; Civic Service Award went to Pauline Seymour, sponsored by Gordon's LabsDr. Debra Kalfas Memorial Award went to Kelli Ashe sponsored by Falk, Waas, Hernandez, Cortina, Solomon, and Bonner, PA; Dr. William Delavari Memorial Award went to Kristina Barreiro, sponsored by Vilex, Incorporated; Excellence in Clinical Sciences Award went to Luis Rodriguez, sponsored by Amerx Corporation; Dr. Irving & Muriel Block Memorial Award went to Sidharth Reddy, sponsored by Florida Podiatric Medical Society; Leadership Award went to David Auguste, sponsored by Pedinol PharmacalGill Podiatry Supply, andBioPro;Excellence in Biomedical Sciences went to Annabelle Santos-Dookie, sponsored by BioPro; Scholarly Development Awardwent to Joshua Britt, sponsored by Gill Podiatry Supply and Vilex, Incorporated;Michael L. Stone, DPM, Outstanding Professional Conduct Award, Memorialwent to Peter Highlander, sponsored by the American Board of Podiatric Surgery; Outstanding Biomechanics/Orthopedics went to Aldo Gonzalez sponsored by Northwest Podiatric Labs; Dr. Timothy Holbrook Award of Excellence went to Mary Zavada, sponsored by the American College of Foot & Ankle Orthopedics & Medicine. Faculty awards presented by the Class of 2011 were: Best Basic Science faculty, Dr. Ramjeet Pemsingh; Best Clinical Science Faculty, Dr. Albert Armstrong; Best Podiatry Clinic, Hialeah Barry Foot & Ankle Institute; The Dr. Marvin Steinberg Award, Dr. Bradley Bakotic; Outstanding Administrative Staff, Ms. Annick DeBruyne; Appreciation of Counsel, Dr. Bradley Haves.

Barry University President, Sister Linda Bevilacqua, OP, PhD conferred the degrees and Dr. Jeffrey Jensen serving as dean for the first time led the recitation of the Oath of Hippocrates with the new doctors of podiatric medicine.

Sign in to use the pins