Moot Court

Dwayne O. Andreas School of Law

Dwayne O. Andreas School of Law Moot Court

Barry Law’s Moot Court Board is an invitational organization composed of upper-class students selected on the basis of academic achievement and oral advocacy skills. Membership on the Board is designed to strengthen the skills needed for trial and appellate brief writing and oral advocacy. Members of the Moot Court Board also work with first-year Legal Writing students in preparation for their oral arguments and prepare an intra-school competition for new applicants to the Board. Members receive credit for participation in Board activities and competitions.

Our Moot Court teams have won accolades for their performance in competitions on the state, regional, and national levels.

A Decade of Accomplishment:

National Championships

  • Florida Bar Tax Section National Tax Moot Court Competition, February 2004, St. Petersburg Beach, FL. A total of 16 teams competed with Barry Law: William Mitchell College of Law, New England School of Law, Suffolk University Law School, Duquesne University School of Law, Stetson University College of Law, Capital University Law School, Widener University School of Law, Hamline University School of Law, Syracuse University College of Law, Brandeis Law School, Texas Tech University School of Law, University of Oregon School of Law, University of Baltimore School of Law, University of Alabama School of Law, and Ohio Northern University Claude W. Pettit College of Law. Barry defeated Stetson’s team to win the championship.

Elite Eights

  • In 2014, Jordan Mejeur and Scott (Joseph) Miller advanced to the Elite Eight at the Charleston School of Law National Moot Court Competition.

Finals or Sweet Sixteens

  • In 2014, Brooke Gaffney, Angela Goodrum, and Darrin Chambers advanced to the Sweet Sixteen at the ABA Regional Competition in Washington, DC.
  • In 2011, John Berry, Leanne Palmer, and Laila Archer were finalists at the Wechsler First Amendment Moot Court Competition; Second Place Best Brief.
  • In 2010, Colby Ferris, Justin Chapman, and Hannah Crume advanced to the Sweet 16 in the ABA Regional Competition.
  • In 2010, Brian Kozlowski, Heather Meglino, and Richard Robbins – finalists at Wechsler First Amendment Moot Court Competition.
  • In 2008, Nic Ostrem, Mark Hopson and Chris Silversmith advanced to the Top 16 in the National Tax Moot Court Competition.
  • In 2008, Kelly Cavanaugh, Anita Mamone, and Kelly Owen were finalists (2nd) in the Domenick L. Gabrielli National Family Law Moot Court Competition.
  • In 2008, Kerry Adams and Xavier Carrera advanced to the Top 16 in the Chicago City Bar Moot Court Competition.
  • In 2008, two teams (John Rigden, Julie Perry and Melissa Sherman;and Xavier Carrera, Colby Ferris and Jacob DeLauter) advanced to the Sweet 16 in the ABA Regional Competition.
  • In 2007, Stephanie Knott and Priscilla Rivers advanced to the Top 16 out of more than 200 teams in the City Bar of New York Moot Court Competition.
  • In 2007, Kevin Wimberly and Imran Malik took 2nd Place Overall in the South Regional of the National Trademark Law Competition.
  • In 2007, Jonathon Blevins, Jeff Fuller, and Matt Lavisky advanced to the Top 16 in the Craven National Constitutional Law Competition at the University of North Carolina.
  • In 2007, Jonathon Blevins, Randa Maali and Jaime Nelson ranked 5th overall in the southeast regional NYC Bar Moot Court Competition; the team’s brief ranked 2nd.
  • In 2007, Kelly Cavanaugh, Anita Mamone, and Kelly Owen advanced to the Top 8 in the National Family Law Competition in Albany, NY.
  • In 2007, Dan Whitney and Catisha Smith ranked 6th overall in the National Criminal Procedure Moot Court Competition in San Diego, CA.
  • In 2005, Lori Caldwell, Amber Neilson and Suzanne Meehle were awarded 2nd Place Overall in the National Trademark Law Competition.

Individual/Team Achievements

  • In 2013, Victor Rodriguez, Robert Morris, and Albert Northrup received the Best Brief Award at the Puerto Rican Bar Association Moot Court Competition.
  • In 2012, Joseph Guccione received the Best Advocate Award at the Puerto Rican Bar Association Moot Court Competition.
  • In 2010, Jason Davis, Quinton Sheer and Kate Thorner advanced to the quarterfinals in the William B. Spong Moot Court Tournament.
  • In 2010, Kaylynn Shoop and Scott Millard advanced to the quarterfinals in the Wagner National Labor & Employment Law Competition.
  • In 2009, Rodrigo Caruco, Jacob DeLauter and Erin Cox advanced to the quarterfinals in the Navy JAG Competition, beating a Harvard team.
  • In 2008, Rodrigo Caruco won Best Advocate for the preliminary rounds of the Orseck Competition.
  • In 2006, Barry Law received Best Oralist Award in the National Trademark Competition.
  • In 2005, Jason Parent and Josh Smith were honored for their brief-writing skills, placing 2nd out of more than 35 teams at the National Sports Law Competition.
  • In 2004, Kristen Walter was honored for her oral advocacy skills, taking home 2nd Place out of more than 80 competitors at the National Entertainment Law Competition.

Sign in to use the pins