SHRM® Recertification


Maintain Your SHRM Credential With Recertification

Because the HR profession is constantly changing and evolving, it is important for certified professionals to continually update their HR competencies and knowledge. Achieving certification as a SHRM

HR professionals obtain recertification by engaging in professional development activities that relate to the behavioral competencies and HR knowledge identified in the SHRM BoCK. The incorporation of competencies into the SHRM BoCK greatly expands the range of activities that will qualify for professional development credits (PDCs). To recertify and maintain your credential, you must earn 60 PDCs every three years, or retake the certification exam.

SHRM created three avenues by which SHRM-CP and SHRM-SCP credential holders can earn PDCs:

  • Advance Your Education through continuing education activities such as conferences, seminars, webcasts, e-learning, chapter programs and more.
  • Advance Your Organization through supervisor-endorsed work projects that meet or support organizational goals and demonstrate or advance capabilities in one or more of the HR competencies.
  • Advance Your Profession through thought leadership and volunteer activities that contribute to the development of the HR profession and the community.

For detailed descriptions of what activities qualify for PDCs, refer to the SHRM Recertification Handbook.

To start the recertification process, visit

  • Developing and Leading Successful Teams – 3.5 PDCs
  • Resolving Conflict Constructively – 3.5 PDCs
  • Leadership That Makes A Difference – 4 PDCs
  • Getting the Customer Relationship Right – 3.5 PDCs
  • Change Management – 7 PDCs
  • Strategic Planning – 7 PDCs
  • Creating a High-Performance Culture – 3.5 PDCs
  • Employee Engagement – 7 PDCs
  • Sexual Harassment Prevention – 3.5 PDCs
  • Diversity and Inclusion – 7 PDCs

Register NOW

These recertification workshops and seminars are offered on demand.

SHRM Essentials of HR Management

Additional Resources

Additional learning opportunities are offered in partnership with MindEdge, an e-learning provider. After you register for these online continuing education courses, you will be redirected to MindEdge’s website.

  • Certificate in Human Resource Management
    14 SHRM credits | 17 HRCI credits | 2.1 CEUs
  • Compensation and Benefits
    3.5 SHRM credits | 3.5 HRCI credits | 0.3 CEUs
  • Employee Selection
    3.5 SHRM credits | 3.5 HRCI credits | 0.3 CEUs
  • Equal Employment Opportunity
    2.5 SHRM credits | 2.5 HRCI credits | 0.3 CEUs
  • Performance Management
    3 SHRM credits | 3 HRCI credits | 0.3 CEUs
  • Talent Management and Career Development
    2 SHRM credits | 2 HRCI credits | 0.3 CEUs

Helpful Tips

4 Steps To SHRM Certification

  1. Determine your eligibility.
  2. Apply for the SHRM-CP or SHRM-SCP exam.
  3. Prepare for the certification exam with expert guidance from Barry University Continuing Education. Register here.
  4. Take the exam and leverage your certification.


SHRM Recertification

Barry University is recognized by SHRM to offer Professional Development Credits (PDCs) for the SHRM-CP® or SHRM-SCP®.

Contact Us

If you have any questions or need assistance, please contact Barry University Continuing Education at 305.981.5148 or

Sign in to use the pins