• Create admissions profile
  • Check on application status

Apply Now
Connect with us



Barry University's Podiatric Medicine and Surgery Program was established in 1985 as the Barry University School of Podiatric Medicine and the first podiatric medical school in the south. Since our first graduating class of 18 in 1989 we have graduated over 850 doctors of podiatric medicine, trained over 125 podiatric primary care residents, and provided more than $15 million in charitable care in greater Miami, treated over 300,000 medically underserved and minority individuals and provided surgical care or other medical interventions to over 4,000 crippled underprivileged children through our Yucatan Crippled Children's Project.

The most significant achievement is that we have been able to fulfill a major priority of the Barry University's mission, "to develop high quality academic programs so that the needs of both the students and the local community would be served." In the early 1970's, a study done by the Carnegie Foundation called for a school of podiatric medicine to be established in the southern region of the United States. After reviewing various studies on the need, Sister Jeanne O'Laughlin, O.P., Ph.D., President of Barry University from 1981-2004 established Barry's School of Podiatric Medicine in September 1985. Barry's School of Podiatric Medicine became not only the first in the southern region of the United States, but the first to be associated with a comprehensive institution of higher education.

Barry's primary clinical training facilities are located at the five Foot and Ankle Institute sites at Mercy Hospital, Miami Heart Institute, Hialeah, North Miami, and North Shore Medical Center. Barry's philosophy of providing an intimate faculty to student ratio, whereby students are given individualized attention and instruction with caring faculty dedicated to active learning is a tribute to excellence in health care. The Barry Podiatric Clinical Faculty feel so strongly about the indebtedness of their students that they have donated nearly $300,000 to student scholarships in the last ten years. Moreover, we have an outstanding group of core faculty including, Dr. Thomas Merrill, who was the first full-time podiatric faculty member; Dr. Charles Southerland, who was selected as the Sister Jeanne O'Laughlin Barry University Scholars Award; Dr. James Losito, who serves as the podiatric physician for Barry's Athletes and the Miami Heat; Dr. John Nelson, one of the founding members of the American Academy of Wound Management and among many more pioneering podiatric faculty members.

Oh oh ....

We are sorry but it appears that JavaScript is disabled on your browser.
Our site is very interactive and it requires JavaScript to be enabled.
Click on the link below for instructions on how to enable JavaScript on your browser.

Enable JavaScript on your browser