Men's Golf Trio Named All-Americans

Men's Golf Trio Named All-Americans
(L to R) Jared Dalga, Scott Smyers and Mario Beltran were each named Third-Team All-American. Photos by Joel Auerbach

NORMAN, Okla. -- Three Barry University men's golfers earned Ping All-American honors Tuesday, as announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America. 

Seniors Jared Dalga and Scott Smyers and freshman Mario Beltran were named to the Third Team. They join teammate Adam Svensson, who was picked as a First Team selection last month.

Dalga finished his career with seven top-10 finishes, including a tie for third at the Brickyard Crossing Intercollegiate. He had a 72.97 stroke average, and shot a career-low 68 in the final round of the Buccaneer Invitational. Dalga had 20 par or better rounds, and finished with a No. 29 national rating.

Smyers capped his career with four top-10 finishes, including a tie for third at the St. Edward's Invitational. He had a 73.77 stroke average, and fired a career-low 66 in the second round of the NCAA South/Southeast Super Regional. Smyers had 13 par or better rounds, including five in the 60s.

Beltran had five top-10 finishes, including a pair of victories at the Guy Harvey Invitational and Otter Invitational. He had a 73.03 stroke average, and shot a season-low 68 at three separate tournaments. Beltran had 16 par or better rounds, and had a No. 33 national rating.


NCAA Division II PING All-America Teams

First Team
Tim Crouch, Florida Southern
Alistair Docherty, Chico State
Derek Oland, Midwestern State
Brandon Robinson-Thompson, USC-Aiken
Spencer Schindler, Flagler
Adam Svensson, Barry
Nate Tarter, Malone
Shad Tuten, Armstrong Atlantic State

Second Team
Conner Godsey, North Alabama
Santiago Gomez, Nova Southeastern
Michael Hearne, Southern Nazarene
Juan Miguel Heredia, West Florida
Sam Johnston, Oklahoma Christian
Fredrik Lindblom, Clayton State
Robert Mize, Columbus State
Colin Prater, Colorado Mesa

Third Team
Mario Beltran, Barry
Jared Dalga, Barry
Dylan Jackson, CSU Monterey Bay
Zack Kempa, IUP
Tyler Light, Malone
Scott Smyers, Barry
Harry Wetton, Western New Mexico
Travis Williamson, Armstrong Atlantic State

Honorable Mention
Trent Alexander, North Alabama
Ray Badenhorst, Florida Tech
Esteban Castro, West Florida
Ricardo Celia, Nova Southeastern
Michael Colgate, Nebraska-Kearney
Mitch Farrer, Nova Southeastern
Nicolas Fonseca, Barton
Bryan Fox, Georgia College
Lee Gearhart, Chico State
Ryan Gendron, St. Leo
Kyle Godsman, USC-Aiken
Keith Greene, Lynn
Minkyu Jeon, Colorado Christian
Justin Kalanguin, Florida Tech
Eric Kline, Central Oklahoma
Oscar Lengden, Nova Southeastern
Anthony Manguray, CSU Stanislaus
Travis Mays, Central Missouri
Cy Moritz, Central Missouri
Hunter O’Mahony, Nova Southeastern
Anton Rosen, CSU Monterey Bay
Kenneth Sames, IUP
Jamin Smith, Charleston
Dillion Van Essen, St. Edward’s
Elliott Whitley, Lynn
Justin Wiles, Chico State