Men's Soccer Places Four On All-SSC Team

 Men's Soccer Places Four On All-SSC Team
Mark Anderson was named SSC Player Of The Year. Photo By Joel Auerbach.


WINTER PARK, Fla.--A total of 25 student-athletes have been named to the 2011 All-Sunshine State Conference Men’s Soccer Team.  Barry’s Mark Anderson garnered both Player and Offensive Player of the Year honors.  Rollins’ Justin Clark was selected Defensive Player of the Year.  Lynn’s Jason Sangha was tabbed Freshman of the Year, and Florida Tech’s Robin Chan was recognized as Coach of the Year.

Joining forward Anderson and defender Clark on the All-SSC First Team were:  forwards Ryan Griffin (Tampa) and Zach Hofstetter (Florida Southern); midfielders Heiko Eberhardt (Lynn), Guilherme Oliveira (Barry), and Nick Sowers (Rollins); defenders Matt Duffy (Eckerd) and Ashley Holmes (Florida Southern); goalkeeper Johnny Rodrigues (Barry); and at-large selection Harald Gracholski (Lynn).

Receiving All-SSC Second Team honors with defender Sangha were:  forwards Rafa Faria (Rollins), Matt Knight (Eckerd), and Nick Robinson (Florida Tech); midfielders Anthony Arico (Eckerd), Dominic Cutrofello (Tampa), and Joong Kim (Barry); defenders Jack Clifford (Rollins), Brian Fekete (Tampa), and Kalle Mansson (Florida Tech); goalkeeper Brentton Muhammad (Florida Tech); and at-large selection Matt DiCerbo (Lynn).

Rollins goalkeeper Keneil Baker and Eckerd GK Toni Virtanen received honorable mention.

Voting for the All-SSC team was conducted among the league’s men’s soccer coaches and sports information directors.

A senior, Anderson was a prolific scorer for Barry.  He led the SSC with 20 goals and tied for the conference lead with 44 points.  A native of Durham, England, Anderson twice scored four goals in a match this season.  He netted four goals in a game against North Georgia on Sept. 4, and then replicated the feat on Sept. 21 versus St. Thomas.

A senior from Atlanta, Ga., Clark anchored a Rollins defense that was among the toughest in the league.  Clark and his squad ranked second in the SSC with 0.80 goals allowed per match.  They were also second in the conference with eight shutouts and a 0.79 goals against average.

Sangha made an immediate impact in his first season at Lynn.  A native of Southampton, England, he led a Fighting Knight defense that was the most formidable in the SSC.  The Knights’ 0.50 goals allowed per match and 0.51 goals against average were tops in the conference.  They also posted a league-best 10 shutouts.  Sangha and his LU teammates surrendered only three goals in SSC play.

Chan led Florida Tech to a 9-5-1 overall record and a 5-2-1 conference mark.  His Panthers finished second in the SSC standings and secured a first-round bye in the SSC tournament.  Chan’s squad ranked third in the conference with 13 goals allowed and a 0.84 goals against average.


F – Mark Anderson, Barry, Senior
F – Ryan Griffin, Tampa, Senior
F – Zach Hofstetter, Florida Southern, Senior
M – Heiko Eberhardt, Lynn, Grad
M – Guilherme Oliveira, Barry, Junior
M – Nick Sowers, Rollins, Senior
D – Justin Clark, Rollins, Senior
D – Matt Duffy, Eckerd, Junior
D – Ashley Holmes, Florida Southern, Junior
GK – Johnny Rodrigues, Barry, Junior
At-Large – Harald Gracholski, Lynn, Grad

Player of the Year – Mark Anderson, Barry
Offensive Player of the Year – Mark Anderson, Barry
Defensive Player of the Year – Justin Clark, Rollins
Freshman of the Year – Jason Sangha, Lynn
Coach of the Year – Robin Chan, Florida Tech

F – Rafa Faria, Rollins, Junior
F – Matt Knight, Eckerd, Junior
F – Nick Robinson, Florida Tech, Senior
M – Anthony Arico, Eckerd, Senior
M – Dominic Cutrofello, Tampa
M – Joong Kim, Barry, Sophomore
D – Jack Clifford, Rollins, Senior
D – Brian Fekete, Tampa, Junior
D – Kalle Mansson, Florida Tech, Senior
D – Jason Sangha, Lynn, Freshman
GK – Brentton Muhammad, Florida Tech, Junior
At-Large – Matt DiCerbo, Lynn, Junior

GK – Keneil Baker, Rollins, Sophomore
GK – Toni Virtanen, Eckerd, Sophomore